Surprise Package

This post, “Surprise Package” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Just about 15 minutes ago, I received a big surprise.  The UPS man rang the doorbell, and my hubby went to the door expecting his small package of a digital camera card.  He came inside and said, “Someone’s been ordering plants.  I can smell dirt through the box.” 

I thought he was just being silly, but sure enough there was a big box with holes in the sides and my name on the box.  I was perplexed.  I didn’t order anything.  I least I didn’t remember ordering any plants.  I asked him if he ordered any plants for me for my birthday, which is coming up.  Of course, I already knew the answer to that one.  “No”

On opening the box, I found the order receipt on top of a dozen daylilies from Oakes Daylilies.  They were from my wonderful, sweet, thoughtful sister in Virginia.  I was so surprised.  The plants were in wonderful condition.  Last time she was in town, we talked about Oakes, and she said she had ordered from them before.  She stated that the plants were big and grew quickly into vigorous plants.  I said I might give them a try, but never did.  Now, I have some Oakes daylilies, and can’t wait to thank my loving sister when she comes to visit next week. 

2008-229-oakes-daylilies-in-box-reduced-v2-001.jpg  I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow – Planting daylilies.

7 Comments

  1. Mary Beth said,

    February 29, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    What a wonderful gift – your sister must be tops – we’ll be looking forward to pictures of your daylilies in bloom

    Yes, Mary Beth, I think my sister is pretty great. When I called to thank her for the gift, she said to make sure I post pictures when they bloom, and I certainly will.

  2. March 1, 2008 at 12:45 am

    Oh it’s so great when you are not expecting it at all. That is wonderful.

    You are so right. It is those unexpected gifts that bring the most excitement.

  3. Melanie said,

    March 1, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Oh boy, I can close my eyes and smell those daylilies! Daylilies have a very distinctive smell and my mouth is watering just thinking of that spring-like smell.

    It has only been in last two years that I have started to add daylilies to my garden, but I can see I’ll be having more and more as the years go by. They are just great plants.

  4. Carol said,

    March 1, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Sweet sister indeed! Oakes Daylilies — that is very good info to know! I shall have to check it out. The paths of my sunny garden are lined with a daylilies. There’s always room for a few more. Thx for visiting my blog!
    Carol
    terranovadesign@blogspot.com

    Yes, Carol, she is a very sweet sister. Oakes Daylilies are highly rated by Dave’s Garden Watchdog.

  5. Randy said,

    March 2, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Don’t you just love Daylilies. We have plenty of sun in the garden now, so I’m going to fill it full of Daylilies! I’m certainly going to check out this site.

    I also have more sun for the same reason as you – loss of big trees. So I have used this as any opportunity to plant more sun-loving plants like daylilies. Oakes Daylilies are a great value. The plants they send are very big. Five or more fans. I just finished planting mine today.

  6. Nancy said,

    March 2, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Happy Birthday, and how wonderful to have a sister who knows you so well. I love day lilies too…they’re so dependable, yet surprising every year.

    I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one that’s been disappointed with the home and garden shows recently. The ones in LA sound wonderful. Could you drop a note on my blog when one is coming up? I’ve always wanted to go to New Orleans, and this would be a wonderful reason!

    The New Orleans Botanical Gardens is hosting one the weekend of April 5/6. See http://www.neworleanscitypark.com/nobgcal.html for more info.

  7. Nancy said,

    March 3, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    OH……the Spring Fling Garden Bloggers event in Austin is that week. Speaking of which….thougth about coming there? (look on my sidebar, there is a link that leads to the blog with information about it)

    humm maybe the next one in New Orleans

    I’ll let you know when the fall show in N.O. is scheduled. It is usually in September. I wish I could be at the Spring Fling, but with work there is no way I could arrange it. Make sure to have enough fun for me too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

