Waiting for Gustav

“Waiting for Gustav”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Well, we still don’t know where Gustav is going to end up, and everyone around here is getting very anxious.  It seems to just be sitting there next to Jamaica, and no one seems able to tell where it is going to be in just the next few days, much less five days out.  With so many people trying to make plans to evacuate, hotel rooms are booked all the way to Memphis.  It is just getting crazy.  Most people are worried because there is so much uncertainty as to where it will end up and do they have to evacuate or not, and if they do evacuate, when do they leave.

Sorry, I don’t feel much like posting about gardening tonight – too anxious.  Though when I was watering the garden,  I did see that the night blooming Jasmine has buds.  Maybe when they open, I’ll be in a better mood and post some photos.

7 Comments

  1. Krys said,

    August 28, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Keeping my fingers crossed that all works out well for you and everyone else threatened by Gustav…

  2. Jan said,

    August 29, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Thanks, Krys. We are just staying alert down here as there is not much more we can do right now but wait to see what the storm is going to do.

  3. Phillip said,

    August 29, 2008 at 7:06 am

    I will certainly be thinking about you and hoping that you don’t get anything severe. How close are you to New Orleans?

  4. mrtumnas said,

    August 29, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Yeah, it’s a little nerve-wracking. I’m planning on staying if it comes this way, so today I’ll be stocking up on food, getting the generator all prepped, and securing everything.

  5. linnie said,

    August 29, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Good morning Jan
    I know how you feel. I have spent the morning putting a great many of my potted tropicals into the ground in sheltered areas hoping they will get enough rain to sustain them. I look forward to coming home and repotting them. I hate to leave my garden but I think we will be required to evacuate by our local authorities.

    I pray for everyone who is anxious about this storm. The gulf coast residents are in our prayers.

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 8/29/08

  6. AnnA said,

    August 29, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Take down my email address and take it with you. If you get stuck with no where to stay–come see me. I’m in the middle western part of NC. I am so sorry. If you got pets–bring them. I don’t mind one bit.

  7. Jan said,

    August 29, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Phillip, we are about 30 miles north of New Orleans, but we are on high ground. Flooding, here, isn’t the problem. It’s the tall pine trees that will snap in high winds that have us worried.

    Mrtumnas, we are staying here, too. We have some sand bags to put in front of the garage in case of heavy rains, and the generator ready to go. Everything is secured and just the waiting is left.

    Linnie, take care. I feel that we will not get the worst of the storm, but we must be prepared.

    Anna, how sweet of you to offer. So far, we are planning to stay home for the storm. It does look as if the worst will pass to the west of us, at least that is what the “official” track it showing. We will probably know more tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

