A Special Rose

“A Special Rose”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Lately, it seems as if time is playing tricks on me.  Time usually seems to fly by especially at this time of year when there is so much to do at work and in the garden.  So many “have to’s” to take care of and never enough time.  I swear it often seems like I am on a treadmill, and someone keeps upping the speed.  And then there are the few occasions when time seems to crawl.  The most recent example has been waiting for the Caldwell Pink rose bush’s buds to open.  It seems that the buds have been slightly open, showing a little bit of color,  for three weeks.  I am not kidding.  It’s been weeks that they have been teasing me, making me check every day to see if one has opened, causing me to actually talk to them, or really beg them,  saying, “Come on, guys, open up.  Show some color.”  (I think the next door neighbor is starting to wonder about me.)

This rose was a gift last summer from Phillip of Dirt Therapy.  It is one he was able to root that he then graciously sent to me.  He included a picture in the package, but, you know, everyone wants to see the real thing.  I was so happy when the cluster of buds formed, and when they started showing a little color, I was excited.  Then, nothing.  We were having warm days and cool nights, so I guess the cool nights slowed every thing down, or maybe Caldwell Pink knows how to build excitement and make a grand entrance.

Saturday, there finally were open flowers.

 

caldweld-pink-redu

 

Isn’t she lovely?  I planted this gift rose in the “pink” garden where it makes a great addition.  It is still a small bush, but I know it will do well in this area and continue to bloom all summer.  I already have noticed another bloom cluster coming.

I love to have plants in my garden that are pretty in their own right, but the ones that remind me of the giver are extra special.  So, even though this is usually called Caldwell Pink, in my garden it will always be called Phillip’s Caldwell Pink.  Thank you, Phillip, for a lovely rose and for sending me a small piece of your garden.

8 Comments

  1. keewee said,

    April 26, 2009 at 8:09 am

    She is delicate and lovely indeed.

  2. Tatyana said,

    April 26, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Jan, I absolutely agree with you – the plants that we got from other people are special. I have Maura’s clematis, Mary’s rose, Cathy’s fuchsia, etc. in my garden. Love plants with stories behind them. Thanks for your post!

  3. Janet said,

    April 26, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Beautiful pink color. How big is the blossom? My Fairy rose is about that color but small, about inch and a half across. Nice guy that Phillip to get that one to you.

  4. Jan said,

    April 26, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Keewee, I have to agree with your description. It certainly is lovely.

    Tatyana, it seems most gardeners do treasure those pass along plants and the people who pass them along.

    Janet, it is a lovely color, and does remind me a great deal of The Fairy, now that you mention it. The flower on Caldwell Pink is just a little bit bigger than The Fairy. This rose, however, does not have the thousand little thorns that The Fairy has. Phillip is a very generous gardener to share this rose with me.

  5. April 26, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    She is gorgeous (even though she made you wait). I guess you have a new version of the old adage “A watched pot never boils.” In your case, it’s “A watched rose never blooms.” ;-)

  6. andré said,

    April 27, 2009 at 3:37 am

    Definitely worth waiting for, I would say…! :-)

  7. Phillip said,

    April 27, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Hi Jan! I was thrilled to see your post and I’m so glad the rose is doing well for you. Mine isn’t blooming yet and I’ve really never noticed if it is slow to open or not. I’ll make a note of that this year. I hope you enjoy it!

  8. Jan said,

    April 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Cindy, I certainly have to agree with your version of the old adage. Maybe I should not have checked it every day.

    Andre, it was worth waiting for. I know that once it grows bigger, it will be wonderful.

    Phillip, I don’t know if I was just so anxious for it to bloom or the cooler night air slowed things down, but I am glad they finally opened, It is a lovely color and the small flowers are so sweet. I am so happy you shared this rose with me. Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

