A Nice Surprise

“A Nice Surprise”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

When it comes to my garden, it doesn’t take much to make me happy.  A new flower, especially one on a plant that has never bloomed before, really is something I look forward to seeing.  While prowling around with my camera this past weekend, I suddenly spied a new flower.

 

 

Mardi Gras flower (redu)

 

This is the first time I am seeing this flower.  It is on a ti plant that my mother gave me about two years ago, and this is the first flower it has ever produced.  The stems as well as the tiny flowers are such a pretty shade of pink. 

I was rather amazed to see this flowering at this time of year.  While, we have not had any real cold weather, we have had several chilly days and nights, and I would have expected this plant to flower in the warm summer, not in mid-November.  This certainly was a nice surprise.

6 Comments

  1. November 11, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    What a beautiful flower. I love surprises in the garden – good ones, not bad ones ;0)

  2. Sweet Bay said,

    November 12, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Beautiful! Do you know what it is?

    • Jan said,

      November 12, 2009 at 4:36 pm

      It is a ti plant that my mother called “Mardi Gras”.

  3. November 12, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    A beautiful flower and a beautiful leaf!

  4. November 13, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    What a pretty plant. I get excited when I see anything in bloom this time of year – it’s always such a treat!

  5. Lana said,

    November 18, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Wow…how cool! It almost reminds me of…red buckeye, I think it’s called…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

