Planting Today

“Planting Today”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

One of the nice things about having some time off for Thanksgiving is that it allows me some time in the garden.  Two weekends ago, I bought some violas and had time to plant only about a third of theme when the rains came.  Today, I will be out planting the rest.  I am determined that today will be a garden day.

I have had better luck the last few years with violas instead of pansies, so this year it will be all violas.  One thing that surprised me was how limited the selection of cool season bedding plants there was this year.  I guess with the economy, retailers have cut back on their stock.  Because of this, I am beginning to wonder if I ought to consider growing more plants from seeds for this spring to get the colors, etc. that I need.

But, like Scarlett O’Hara, I’ll think about that another day.  Right now, I am going to be thankful that today, I can enjoy being outside planting my favorite flowers.

10 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    November 24, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Ah Scarlet, fiddle dee dee. Love the violas.

  2. Sweet Bay said,

    November 24, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I love those two-toned violas with the purple and the blue.

    I have thought about growing pansies from seed too, but from what I’ve read it’s not the easiest thing to do. One year I had pansies that I would dearly love to have again but have not seen them in stores since.

  3. Nell Jean said,

    November 24, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Violas are my choice, too. They last longer into the spring than pansies, but deadheading is the pits. Sometimes I just shear off the tops.

    I noticed the fewer available, too. My favorite nursery was anticipating 6 flats of yellow violas on Saturday, of which 2 were to be mine. She called to report that it would be two weeks before the flats of 36 plants would be ready, according to the grower, but he had left her flats of 18 in larger size, at almost twice the price, which she would sell at discount. I’m going to wait for the others. I need quantity more than big plants.

    I was not going to plant blues, but now that I’ve seen yours….

  4. Jean said,

    November 24, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Yes, I should be not only planting violas this week but planting more plants from seed. I think I’m just too lazy for that last one though!

  5. November 24, 2009 at 11:19 am

    How lovely… how sweet… you are so lucky to have such mild winters to enjoy such treats. Carol

  6. Randy said,

    November 24, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Jan,
    Looks like you got a nice selection of what we call Johnny Jumpups here. Great plants and you can enjoy blooms all winter.

  7. November 25, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Hello,

    I am glad you are getting some time to enjoy your garden. I do so love Violas. I planted some Johnny Jump-Ups and some Lavender colored Violas. I also find them easier to grow then Pansies. I remember growing Violas from seed as a child. I should probably follow your lead and save some seeds too!

  8. LeSan said,

    November 25, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Those are so lovely and I enjoyed seeing them so much during this long grey season we are in here.

    I would like to wish you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving.
    I hope you have a wonderful day surrounded by those you love.
    LeSan

  9. Lisa said,

    November 25, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Nice project! I’ve noticed a lot of nurseries cutting back on fall offerings, and I’m sure it’s slumping sales. My own economy is driving me to seeds, and honestly I find it much more rewarding! Bigger selection of cultivars is a bonus too, but I find that prices can really vary…comparison shopping is a must.

  10. Teresa said,

    November 25, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Those are so pretty! I can’t think of a better way to spend time being thankful than in my garden! Hopeyou have a nice Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

