Getting Back to Normal

“Getting Back to Normal”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Looks like we are finally starting to get back to normal, garden wise. The cold weather of late December/early January really did a number on the garden. I had damage to plants that had always pulled through our cold weather before with no problem. But, now, finally we seem to on track. We still are getting cool weather, but only our normal lows. This weekend was the first time I was able to get out in the garden.

I had two Blushing Knockout roses to plant, but before I could plant them, I had to dig up and transplant a small lorepetlum. Just being out in the sunshine and being able to dig in the ground really lifted my spirits.

What I also found encouraging was the new blooms I found in the garden. The lorepetlum are blooming.

 

 

The winter honeysuckle is also blooming. It must have started earlier this week, but with all the rain, I was unable to get out in the garden. This, along with the forsythia, are the first plants to break dormancy and bloom.

 

 

It is amazing to me how just these little flowers are able to get me thinking of spring and planning what to do next in the garden.

11 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    February 7, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Nice to see some blooms opening! I really like Lorepetalum, one of my favorite colors!

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      I have really grown to like this plant, Janet. I wish I would have planted them earlier.

  2. jardinm said,

    February 8, 2010 at 2:25 am

    Hi Jan – sorry about all the damage you’ve had with the cold – it’s been a much colder winter here – time will tell on what’s been affected here but v. cold again today :-(…. was out taking photos in my garden yesterday and I too have that wonderful winterflowring Honeysuckle – the smell is wonderful… Daphne is also great for perfume at this time of year! Have a good week and hope it warms up for you – Miranda

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      Miranda, everyone seems to be ready for winter to say a final goodbye. This is only the second year I have had winter honeysuckle in the garden, and I can’t wait for it to get bigger so there will be more flowers. It is truly a wonderful shrub.

  3. Lana said,

    February 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Hooray for the slightest hints of Spring! Today might be a good day to get out. I’d like to go hiking, but I suspect my favorite spots are probably swampy. <:(

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:07 pm

      Lana, it seems that every time there looks like there will be a great day for being outside, it has always just rained and everything is so wet. I really want some sun and dry weather. Where is the rain when you need it? I know this summer I will be wishing for more rain when it is so dry.

  4. Melody said,

    February 8, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    I’m glad you finally able to get out and see what’s happening in your garden. Lorapetalums are tough bushes – they bloom when it’s cold or hot, when it rains or not.

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:09 pm

      Melody, you are right about the lorapetalums being tough plants. I really appreciate that they bloom more than once. In that respect they are better than azaleas for a display twice a year.

  5. February 10, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    I really like that white forsythia. I had never seen one before until just recently, on another garden blog. The honeysuckle blooms are so festive looking. Right now we are buried in 3 feet of snow, more on the way, and no sign of a single green stem anywhere. I had been planning to check on my hellebores–until this happened! I am wondering what will survive this winter…since it’s the absolute worst we have ever experienced. Already two of my holly trees have snapped and broken. And I’m really concerned about my azalea bushes…

    • Jan said,

      February 10, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      Oh, Jan, it certainly sounds like your garden has taken a hit. I don’t know how those of you who live up north can take this cold weather. I am so sick of cold, damp weather. I want some warmth.

  6. February 10, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Jan, I’m originally from PA, and lived in OH, NY and ME. That is really more ‘up north’ than where I am in VA!. People here go crazy with 6 inches of snow…so you can imagine how crazy it is right now! My poor plants aren’t used to anything like this. I’ll be amazed if most of them actually survive!! Many of them I just planted last summer, when we put in a new garden area in the backyard. I never gave a thought to them having trouble over the winter. I think we will ALL be glad to see spring this year!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

