February GBBD

“February GBBD”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD. This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens. Unfortunately, for the second month in a row there is very little blooming here in South Louisiana. We are no longer having the hard freezes, but light to moderate freezes are still hanging around. I have a feeling that once our temperatures get back to normal, there will be an explosion of color as the garden comes alive all at once.

It was very cold outside when I was trying to take these photos, and I was shivering, so please excuse the “quick” takes I did.

Lorepetalum is still blooming despite the cold.

 

 

Violas are still going strong.

 

 

 

Small narcissus are still blooming.

 

 

 

Only one camellia is blooming now. Others seem to be holding their buds closed till warmer weather arrives.

 

 

And, finally, while not flowers, the Christmas ardisia’s berries certainly are brightening up the place.

 

 

I know I said this last month, but I am hoping that next month will be more normal when it comes to blooming flowers.

12 Comments

  1. Nell Jean said,

    February 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    It’s been a hard February. You do have pretties despite the cold, more to come of pretties. Hurry, Spring!

    Happy Bloom Day.

  2. Caroline said,

    February 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    You have many more blooms than I do. That Lorepetalum is gorgeous. Fret not, spring is on the way! Happy GBBD!

  3. February 15, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    From what I’ve read of the cold snap in your part of the country, I’m surprised that you have so much to share. Thanks for braving the cold to take the plant portraits!

  4. Jean said,

    February 15, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Ooh, I’m with you on that last comment! Spring cannot get here fast enough. But your lorapetalum and other blooms are very pretty. And I like the berries too. Maybe our spring will be nice and long. :-)

  5. noel said,

    February 16, 2010 at 12:03 am

    wow, there’s alot of variety in your blooms for february and the colors are great!

  6. February 16, 2010 at 12:59 am

    You have quite a few lovely blooms here Jan! Many more than my nothingness. ;>)

  7. February 16, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Beautiful shots specially pansies.

  8. kanak7 said,

    February 16, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Despite the cold, you have such pretty blooms!I’ve never seen or heard about the lorepetalum–it’s gorgeous! So are the narcissus. The last photo of the berries made me gasp!

    Looking forward to your March GBBD, Jan. Have a great week!

  9. February 16, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Wow – you’ve got a lot going on for this time of year.

  10. Jake said,

    February 17, 2010 at 1:48 am

    The cold everywhere has been amazing! I love how you don’t over look the Lorepetalum’s flowers. It seems to mainly be used just for it’s foliage, but I think the flowers are awesome too. From where I am sitting it looks like spring is happening for you. Lol.

    Jake

  11. February 17, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    That’s a very fancy loropetalum, Jan with its shredded petals.
    You were right that we have similar plants this month, but it will be more fun if we get back to whatever “normal” is!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  12. donna said,

    February 18, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Jan, the ardisia berries are gorgeous, especially with the dark green foliage. I’ve never seen a viola that I didn’t luv. I still have a two month wait for blooming daffodils, but I’m a patient person:)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

