Peak Lily Time

“Peak Lily Time”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

We certainly have been enjoying the lilies that have been blooming for the past week. I haven’t been growing lilies very long. In fact, I think this is only about the third or fourth year I have had any in the garden. Not many people seem to be growing lilies here in South Louisiana. If you do see them, they seem to be in older neighborhoods, probably lilies that have been there for years. In fact, it was when I was driving through an older area and saw a stand of Easter lilies, that I decided to try growing them. I got my first Easter lilies (Lililum longiforum) from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs. These bulbs have been fantastic – blooming and multiplying.

 

 

 

When the Easter lilies did so well, I decided to try other ones. Since we have such rainy, hot and humid weather, local experts tend to caution against certain lilies. So, when I decided to plant more lilies, I went with ones similar to L. longiforum. So, I next tried what I later found out to be a pretty tough lily – Triumphator. The ones I bought last year from Brent and Becky’s are blooming now along with the white ones.

 

 

 

This year I added Lilium longiforum ‘Pink Heaven’ which has already bloomed earlier this month.

 

 

Since I have had so much fun with these lilies, I may start expanding my choices and try some others. Maybe the experts who say lilies don’t do well here just haven’t tried the right ones.

6 Comments

  1. May 29, 2010 at 7:21 am

    Your lilies look especially beautiful this year. I add a few lilies each year. As long as they are well drained, there is now problem. I have quite a few in containers also.

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2010 at 9:17 am

      When I planted mine, I made sure they were in well-drained areas since we can have some very wet winters and summers. I think that may be the trick to growing them here.

  2. Nell Jean said,

    May 29, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Lovely. LA lilies do well for me, too. Your Triumphator is beautiful. I tried Trimphator and it failed miserbly here. Probably something that I did or didn’t do killed it. All the rest look good. Try Orienpets, too. Orania is my fav.

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Thanks for the idea about growing the Orienpets, Nell Jean. I would like to add a lot more lilies next year and having a recommendation helps a lot.

  3. May 29, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    ‘Pink Heaven is particularly pretty, with that shell pink colouring. The sun shining through the petals brings out the delicate look.

  4. Dan said,

    May 30, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Lovely lilies you have, Jan. You are right more people need to be growing them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

