Belated Christmas Present

“Belated Christmas Present”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I think it was in early November. I succumbed once more to an amaryllis kit. I had said I would not buy any of these inexpensive bulbs because so often the flower does not turn out to be the one pictured on the box. Red ones instead of pink, orange instead of white. However, I just can’t seem to resist, so I purchased one that was labeled Minerva, an amaryllis I do not have.

In the past, I have waited until the beginning of December to plant these bulbs because I prefer to have the blooms after the holidays. Mid-January can seem rather bleak after all the Christmas decorations are put away, and why have an amaryllis blooming in December when there are so many holiday items competing with it for attention? This year I didn’t wait to plant the bulb since last year when I delayed the planting, the flower stalk on that year’s amaryllis was already up and never did develop.

So, in early November I planted my Minerva. It didn’t bloom in December. The bud showed but didn’t grow. It almost didn’t bloom in January. January is almost over and finally an open flower.

 

 

I figured this was late because I kept the bulb outside since our winter has been so mild. With the cooler than household temperature, that must have delayed the bulb from growing and flowering. I don’t mind the flower only showing up now because it certainly does cheer up the place since not too much is blooming right now. I never realized that it can be nice having a belated Christmas present from Mother Nature.

2 Comments

  1. Fran said,

    January 28, 2012 at 11:28 am

    This is nice at this time of year. I wish I had one right now.

  2. Bernieh said,

    January 28, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    What a great belated Christmas present! It’s quite lovely!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

