Rose Pruning Time

“Rose Pruning Time”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 

The last week of January to the first week of February is the time I prune my roses. They have usually started blooming again, and new growth is starting. It breaks my heart to cut off flower buds at this time, but it is necessary for better flowering later.

It is also at this time that I will take some of those cuttings and try to root them. I have been fairly successful in rooting new roses, so I thought I would try again this year.

This year I am trying to root a red rose from my mother’s garden. When I went by her house last Thursday, I fulfilled my promise to prune her roses since she is no longer physically able to do so. I took several of the trimmings from her red single rose to root. I tried this last year, but unfortunately took only one red cutting and several pink ones which I didn’t really want. She has the red and pink planted together, and I must have confused them when cutting them back last year. This year, however, I had marked the red one so I would be sure and get the right one.

Because of work, I had to keep these cuttings in water until today. After re-cutting the ends and dipping them in rooting powder, I planted them in containers.

 

 

Now, I will just keep them damp (we have high humidity here, so no having to cover them with plastic) and in a shady area for a few weeks, and then I should have some new rose bushes for my garden. If too many for me to use roots, I’ll just share with my sisters.

I really do like this red rose, but, more importantly, it is from my mother’s garden. It will be something I will always have to remember her by.

1 Comment

  1. February 6, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Wow, good luck with the rooting. I haven’t had great luck with it, but have really only been half-hearted in my attempts.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

