Buying Seeds

“Buying Seeds”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It is seed buying time around here. Last year I didn’t order or grow anything from seed, so I was surprised at the shipping costs that my favorite seed company was charging. I was going to order eleven seed packets. The seeds came to about $25.00, but the shipping was over $9.00. I can’t believe that eleven packets of seed should be $9.00 to ship. I know that everything costs more these days, especially fuel, but I just couldn’t justify that much for such light weight items.

I decided buy locally, and I was able to get just about every thing I wanted, however, there were a few seeds I couldn’t get because they are exclusive to that company. I ended up saving money not only on the shipping, but also the seeds themselves were cheaper than online. I still am going to look for seeds at a nursery in New Orleans, and if I am unsuccessful there, I’ll try in the Baton Rouge area when my sister and I go on our next garden field trip.

 

 

Our warm, spring-like weather has disappeared, so I won’t be starting any of these seeds this week. Next week will be “seed planting” time, something I am looking forward to with great anticipation.

Have any of you ordered from seed or plant companies lately and found the shipping prices a little high or am I just being unrealistic?

4 Comments

  1. Gene said,

    February 6, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    I paid $10.25 shipping on a $37.30 seed order. I did check the shipping fees at a couple of other nurseries and that seems to be the norm.

    • Jan said,

      February 7, 2012 at 5:16 am

      Gene, I think this must be the norm, but last month, I ordered some lily bulbs and several sets of gladiolus bulbs from Brent and Becky’s and the shipping was a little over $9.00. It seems that shipping seeds would be less.

  2. Joan said,

    February 7, 2012 at 5:12 am

    I find that shipping a little high when you are only buying seeds, unless they were coconut seeds. lol

    • Jan said,

      February 7, 2012 at 5:17 am

      No, Joan, they weren’t anything as heavy as that. Just regular, old seed packets.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

