Amaryllis Bulbs

This post, “Amaryllis Bulbs” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 2008-105-elva-amaryllis-reduced-size-v3.jpg

With the weather warming up into the low 60’s, my sister and I just had to strike out and see if we could find something to buy to satisfy our “gardening habit”.  We went to a local nursery, Half Moon Gardens, where I bought three Elvas amaryllis bulbs.  They were on sale.  I’ll enjoy them now and then later plant them in the garden around the first of April. 

I also purchased three apple blossom amaryllis bulbs earlier in the fall.  I did not plant them up until recently, and they are just starting to show the buds.  When they finish, I will plant them next to the two I planted last year.  I’m slowly trying to put more and more perennials in, so that I won’t have to do so much annual planting.  Here in south Louisiana amaryllis can survive in the ground and usually do not lose their leaves until late winter.  Before you know it they put out leaves and start blooming.

Last year a very generous gardener gave me about 15 soft orange-colored amaryllis bulbs.  They were in bloom when I received them, and I just planted them en masse in the garden.  One of them went to seed, so I sprouted the seeds in water in a shallow dish.  When they had two leaves and a root, I planted them in pots.  They have slowly grown, and I think that this spring they can be repotted to bigger pots and by next year into the ground they go.

2008-105-amaryllis-seedlings-reduced-size-v3.jpgAmaryllis seedlings

Last year I ordered about a dozen white amaryllis bulbs from Easy To Grow Bulbs.  They were on special.  I planted them in early February and two did bloom.  I wasn’t expecting any to flower then, so that was a nice surprise.  I am looking forward to them blooming in March or early April.

About three years ago, the secretary where I work gave me a ton of large deep red amaryllis bulbs.  They multiply very quickly.  I have them in two beds.  One is the entry garden, and the other is a circle garden on the south side of our property.  When they are in bloom, they are spectacular – huge and deep crimson.  Now that I have a digital camera, I can’t wait to get photos of those.

I have a few Red Lion bulbs, but after getting those deep red ones, I am not so wild about Red Lion – too “orangey” red. 

I would like to get some more pink amaryllis bulbs.  I have one, Best Seller, that I bought years ago that is very pretty, but unfortunately it has not multiplied.  The price, of some of the bulbs I would like, is too high to buy enough to make a show in the garden.  But, maybe I’ll be lucky and find them on sale one day.

2 Comments

  1. Patricia Louque said,

    January 6, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Your amaryllis bulb has bloomed beautiful. I live up in VA so mine has to be done indoors and put out in spring. I have to cut back in August and let dry. I usually bring them out around Christmas and pot up for a winter flower in my sunroom. I love your blog. I have marked it in my favorites. Keep up the good work

    Thanks, Patricia. Just starting to blog, so it is encouraging when others enjoy it.

  2. January 11, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Nice article!

    Thanks for the feedback


Leave a Reply

