Rain and Planting High

This post, “Rain and Planting High” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Today started with fog which later turned into rain.  We haven’t had a tremendous amount, but it has been raining softly on and off for hours.  A thunderstorm is now heading our way and should bring even more rain. 

We get a lot of rain here in south Louisiana.  Add to this the tropical storms and hurricanes that come through and can give us tremendous amounts of rain in just hours, you’ll understand why it is sometimes so hard to garden here.  This is one of the reasons that everything I plant is planted high.  When I first started gardening, I did lose a few plants until the elderly man next door told me how to plant for this environment.  I lost two oak leaf hydrangeas until I finally planted one almost half way out of the ground and then just piled soil around it.  That one survived.  There are a few spots in the garden that are a little low and that is where Louisiana irises are planted – they can take the water if it sits some. 

The soil here is also high in clay and that is another reason to place plants high.  Azaleas, hydrangeas, roses, etc. – everything I plant is at least a third to half way above the soil line.  I have had great success planting this way, even though no one has ever recommended doing it by that much.

The weather forecasters are predicting that this weekend will be better weather – cooler, no rain.  I hope so because there are many gardening tasks waiting for me.

2007-1225-rabbit-in-ivy-reduced-v2-020.jpg

Little soapstone rabbit in ivy

Leave a Reply

