Daylilies

This post, “Daylilies” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

This morning I went to Wal-Mart, and, as I always do, I went in through the garden area.  They had some very nice fiberglass pots out, and some plastic ones that looked like stone.  I was surprised how nice they were.  Anyway, as I was walking through, they had spring plants and bulbs out in plastic bag packaging.  Years ago I  purchased some Plum Tree daylilies like this, and they have done extremely well.  At this time of year we often have very mild days, and I can’t wait to get in the garden and plant something – anything.  So I succumed to the allure and bought two pkgs of Romantic Rose and one pkg of Rose Passion.  There were three in a pkg.  I could feel through the packing that they had already sprouted.  The ones I bought before hadn’t.  When I got home and opened the bags, I was shocked at how large they were.  The roots even had feeder roots about two to three inches long.  They had put out leaves about six inches long and each plant had at least seven leaves.  Since they were in such good shape, they must have been recently picked and packaged.  I’m glad I bought them now instead of later when maybe they were dried out or moldy.  The ones I have purchased before were never that big or seemed so healthy.I soaked them in warm water for about 5 hours and then potted them up.  I am going to keep them protected till it is later in the spring and then plant them into the garden.

It will be at least 6 weeks before the nurseries around here have spring plants to sell.  So maybe my inability to resist plants at this time of year may pay off.

Leave a Reply

