Winter Blooms

This post, “Winter Blooms” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

It has been cold all day, but these pictures I shot certainly brighten things up.  Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for starting Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day.  So these are my first pictures for Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day.

2008-112-red-camillia-reduced-v2-022.jpgRed Camellia

2008-112-elva-amaryllis-reduced-v2003.jpgElva Amaryllis

copy-2-of-2008-112-red-gerbera-reduced-v2-019.jpg Gerber Daisy

The red Camellia is part of the “borrowed” landscape.  It is in my neighbor’s yard, but, because of its placement, I get to enjoy it more than she does.

The Elva amaryllis is the same as I posted earlier in the month, but now, with some cooler temperatures, it is pinker.  I like it this way better.

Last spring I planted red Gerber daisies in the entry garden, and they have not really stopped blooming.  In fact, I can see that they seem to be putting out a new spurt of blooms.  By the end of the week I should have flowers on just about every plant.  Also, I can see where a few have multiplied.  This has really been a success story.

3 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    January 16, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Nice to meet you and your blog, this is my first visit, but it won’t be my last! From your blooms, I can see that you garden in a much warmer climate than I do. Thanks for joining us for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day and reminding some of us what flowers look like.

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

    Carol, thanks for stopping by and the encouragement.

  2. Caroline said,

    January 17, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    I also enjoyed your post for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day and am a regular to your blog. I try to visit every day and always enjoy your work.

    Thanks for commenting. It is nice to know others enjoy my blog.

  3. January 17, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Hi Jan,

    I’m enjoying my visit to Always Growing, too – your amaryllis is outstanding!

    My camellia is too small to act as borrowed scenery for my neighbors, but I will certainly enjoy their 15-foot tall saucer magnolia in early spring ;-]

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Annie, I am in an older neighborhood so most of the plants are larger, and so there is a lot of borrowed scenery. I am lucky in that respect. Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

