Cold, Rainy Day

This post, “Cold, Rainy Day” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Today it rained most of the day, and tonight it should be freezing by midnight.  We are expecting a low of 27.  The rain gauge shows 1.29 inches of rain fell.  It was a slow, soft rain which means that there was no run off, and all the rain has to soak into the ground.  There are still puddles in the yard tonight, and it stopped raining around noon.

With the low temperatures that are expected tonight, I had to protect the tender vegetation.  I had not moved very many plants since the last freeze, so I just had to cover them again.  There is supposed to be a light freeze again Sunday night, so I won’t really uncover anything until Monday.

Because of all the rain and the ground being so wet, I hated walking around the yard when I was trying to protect the plants.  Of course, I had no choice, but it is annoying.  The ground gets compacted, and it doesn’t help the grass any.

I guess I am finding everything about the weather today annoying because with a three day weekend, I was looking forward to being out and working in the garden.  I may still be able to work on Monday, at least I hope that things will dry out enough that I can do something.  There is still a great deal of yard work to do.  Winter weeds need to be dealt with, some pruning needs to be done – you know, a garden is never finished kind of things.  The kind of things that a good three day weekend would allow to get done. 

Because of our mild winters, Gulf Coast gardeners never really have to stop working their gardens.  It is during the hot summers that we don’t do too much.  I don’t know if I could live in the northern latitudes.  I can understand how anxious those gardeners must be to get outside and work in their gardens.  Our long growing season allows us to garden almost year round. After working inside all week, being able to garden or just go outside and walk around the garden is important to my mental health. I guess I miss that, and that is why I am so grumpy tonight.

I know I won’t be able to work outside tomorrow, so I am planning on starting all my seeds.  If I am able to do that, I’ll post an update on what I plant.

2 Comments

  1. Caroline said,

    January 19, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I can sypathize with you. I live on the southshore and hoped to get outside at least one day on this weekend, but it was not to be. I put all my potted plants inside and covered the rest with plastic drop cloths and refilled all my bird feeders. We are lucky, we can still hope for a warmer week, if not next week then maybe the next.

    Yes, I try to be thankful for the fact that it will be mild in the next few days. I guess I’m too impatient for warmer days.

  2. January 20, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    You’ve described our weekend here in Austin as well. Although it was a bit drizzly I think all the rain fell to the east of us–on you!

    I feel exactly the same way about gardening in winter. Sometimes I tire of the year-round demands of the southern garden. I’d like to have some time off to read catalogs or gardening books or just do something else. But when I’m forced out of the garden for more than a couple of days, I start getting restless and cranky. Just as you say, I need to at least be able to walk around in the garden and look at things and touch the plants…just to ground myself.

    It is good to know I’m not the only one who feels this way. I felt better today with sunshine and just being able to go out


Leave a Reply

