Propagation of Plants

This post, “Propagation of Plants” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

I thought that I would be able to plant up some seeds today, but it was just too cold.  We are expecting another night of freezing temperatures.  However, I did assemble the seeds and my seed starting mixture.  Since it is supposed to warm up tomorrow, I hope to be able to plant everything then. 

About a month ago, when all the leaves had finally fallen off, I cut back a few small limbs of a Confederate Rose (Hibiscus mutabilis) that were blocking the sun from some understory plants.  I took three cuttings about 10 to 12 inches long and put them in water to see if they would root.  That is how my mom made the one I have.

 I did not really expect them to root because I figured the tree would be dormant, but I felt I had nothing to lose.  I was pleasantly surprised to find after about two weeks there were white bumps on the stems.  After another two weeks, there are enough roots to pot them up.  I will have to keep them inside with all the cold weather, but come springtime, I should have three good plants ready to go in the garden.
2008-117-rooted-conf-rose-enhanced-reduced-005.jpg

I don’t know what I’ll do with them.  I will only need one, so I’ll probably offer the others to my daughter and sister. These plants grow fast.  They may freeze back to the ground here when they are small, but after they get some growth on them, they usually do okay.

I really like the Confederate Rose because not only is it a beautiful tree when in bloom, but it blooms in the fall when few large plants are in flower.

                       confederate-rose-blossomreduced-p01-ed-w-pspxi.jpg

The tree was beautiful last fall when this picture was taken.

1 Comment

  1. Dave said,

    January 21, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Propagating plants is always fun! Even if you and up with more than you need it’s great to give them away. Good post!
    Thanks, Dave. I’m always trying to root something. I just can’t seem to throw away trimmings without a stab at propagating them. I get that from my mom. I swear she could get dead sticks to grow.
    Jan


Leave a Reply

