Seeds Planted

This post, “Seeds Planted” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Today I started my seeds.  I prepare my own seed starting mix.  I use 10% perlite, 10% vermiculite, and 80% peat moss.  This has worked successfully for me for years.

I start by mixing up the above, damping it, and then placing it in the six packs or whatever I am using.  I add the seeds, and if they need only a slight covering of soil, I just sprinkle a little of the dry mixture on top and then using a mister dampen the dry soil.

I make sure to label each container.  In the past, if I was planting the same thing in more than one flat, I would label just one and keep them all together.  But, I guess my memory just isn’t as good as it used to be, or maybe I am planting more because now I just can’t keep every thing straight in my mind.  For example, last year when I rooted three different types of hydrangas, I didn’t label each and every one, and now there are a few that I don’t know which are which.  So I now am more careful.  I usually write the name of the plant with marker on the container.  That way I don’t have to worry about losing a name because the wooden one discolored or rotted, etc.

I planted the following seeds: coleus, moonflower, morning glory, cypress vine, hosta, toad lily, lettuce and, for the first time, gerber daisies. 

I have a few more I want to start, but that will have to wait for another day.

Leave a Reply

