Thoughts on Gardening

This post, “Thoughts on Gardening” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

I read the following quote on Sunday, and it really made me stop and think. 

“Don’t ask what the world needs, ask what makes you alive, and do it.  Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”   Howard Thurman

I wonder if what makes people come alive is their avocations.  I know there are some people whose vocations make them excited and alive, but, for most people, they can’t wait to retire. 

As I read the many garden blogs that I visit, I am struck by the fact that so many people are very involved with their gardens.  They seem genuinely interested in what they and other gardeners are doing.  They seem to enjoy their plants, sharing information, and inspiring and encouraging others.  It seems as if their gardens bring them such joy, and this is what makes them so alive.

Most gardeners do not stop at just gardening.  Their interests soon expand to photography, books, travel, etc. 

It is a shame that more people cannot find this enthusiasm for something in their lives because the world truly needs them.

2007-1229-white-begonia-reduced-v-2-p01.jpg

2 Comments

  1. floridaflipper said,

    January 30, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Thank you for sharing this thought. Since moving to Southwest Florida three years ago, gardening has become my passion…
    I get immersed in gardening and look forward each day, to doing something new out there…Very relaxing and rewarding…

    Thanks…

  2. Jan said,

    January 30, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I, too, find gardening very relaxing and satisfying. Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

