Redbud Is Our Groundhog

This post, “Redbud Is Our Groundhog” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

While the rest of the country looks to the groundhog to tell if there will be six more weeks of winter, here, at our house, we look to the neighbor’s redbud tree.  This tree is the first redbud to bloom in the neighborhood, and it tells us that winter is over.

This morning, while taking a break from gardening and getting something to drink, I happened to glance out the kitchen window and something caught my eye.  It was the redbud tree in all its purplish-pink beauty being backlighted by the sun.  It was so striking.  I guess with all the cloudy, rainy weather we have been having lately, I didn’t notice it before today.  It was a surprise because there was not just a few flowers, but the entire tree was covered in blooms, almost as if it happened overnight.

2008-205-redbud-photos-reduced-v4-011.jpg

Punxsutawney Phil may have told the rest of the nation that there will be six more weeks of winter, but here in Covington, Louisiana, Zelda’s redbud says that winter is over and spring is here.

4 Comments

  1. February 6, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    It is such a beautiful tree. I think it will be a while before they start blooming here!

    Yes, it certainly is beautiful. It is even pretty with a gray sky as a background. The puplish-pink flowers really pop.

  2. Dave said,

    February 6, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Redbuds are great! I always enjoyed traveling I 40 in the Spring in the upper Cumberland area and seeing all the redbuds in bloom. They are great trees for that early spring color. I put two in my yard this past year.

    We also planted a redbud in our yard last year, but it is not blooming yet. I agree, they are great trees.

  3. February 7, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Hi Jan,

    You wrote beautifully about spring coming and the redbud as harbinger idea is very interesting. We’ll have to watch and see if it works in Austin, too. We planted three redbuds here in the last couple of years [TX redbud, TX whitebud and a “Forest Pansy’] which is why the name of our garden is Circus~Cercis.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Thanks, Annie. I would be interested in seeing some pictures of “Forest Pansy” when it blooms. I have been thinking about planting one in my garden because of the maroon leaves.

  4. February 9, 2008 at 7:48 am

    I’ve always considered the redbud to be the harbinger of spring here in Austin, too. It often starts blooming around Valentine’s Day. I guess our spring is a couple of weeks later than yours. I don’t think it has much to do with the temperatures, though. We’ve had four days in the 80s this week. I think our bloom times are more closely related to the amount of rain we’ve received. This winter, that hasn’t been a lot.

    Not all of the redbuds around here are in full bloom like my neighbor’s tree. That one seems to bloom very early, but the others are not far behind.


Leave a Reply

