A Little Garden Work

This post, “A Little Garden Work” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

I was feeling a little under the weather today, so consequently, I did not do too much in the garden.  I mostly did some maintenance work.  That meant cutting back some more of the lirope and cleaning up the edges on about forty feet of the entry garden.  While working on those beds, I noticed the amaryllis buds are poking up.  It won’t be too long before they are blooming, esp. if we keep getting these warm days.  Today the high temperature was 70.  I also saw the first vinca minor flower of the year.

2008-209-vinca-reduced-v2-003.jpg

After working on the entry garden, I started spreading the compost that I started in the fall.  I am lucky that the oak trees on our property dropped most of their leaves in the fall.  Now, it has turned into leaf mold and should really help enrich the soil.  I have two compost piles going at all times because of all the yard and kitchen wastes.  I mainly use compost as side dressing in the fall and spring.  I put some on the roses, amaryllis, hydrangea, toad lilies, and agapanthus.  I still have more to spread out, but I just wasn’t feeling up to it.  So, after work this week I hope to be able to do that.  The days are getting longer, and that should allow me time to do some more clean up chores.  There isn’t a whole lot of things left to do.  Soon I’ll be able to sit back and enjoy the spring garden.

1 Comment

  1. February 12, 2008 at 6:08 am

    You are lucky to be able to do something in your garden … mine is 4 feet under a blanket of snow. So all I can do is peruse catalogs and dream at the moment! There is lots of colds and flu going around even in our frozen climate though … I hope you feel better soon! Marie Suzanne, dailyweeder.com

    Marie, even though we don’t have snow and cold weather, there is some flu going around. I am feeling better, thanks. I know I am very lucky to live in a climate where people can garden at this time of the year. In the heat of the summer, though, Southeners tend to stay inside – many days it’s just too hot to work outside.


Leave a Reply

