Checking Things Out

This post, “Checking Things Out” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Today was a complete change from yesterday.  Blue skies, bright sun, and cool temperatures were a welcome relief from the high winds, rain and warm temperatures.

I was able to go outside and take a look around.  I found another arbor in the back yard that had been hit by a pine tree limb.  It did not damage the rose that was on it, and I was going to replace that arbor anyway, so I am not upset about it.

I was happy to see that the Black Seeded Simpson lettuce I planted Sunday is already up.

2008-213-bl-seed-simp-reduced-v2-004.jpg

This lettuce does well for us down here.

My Louisiana irises are also doing well.  They are about two feet tall and should be blooming in a month or so.  These are Bayou Classic that my sister gave me.  They are very vigorous, bloom profusely, and multipy.  I can’t wait to take pictures of them in bloom now that I have a digital camera.

2008-213-bayou-classic-reduced-v2-003.jpg

Our little lime tree is also budding out.  I was rather surprised to see these buds because it has been a little on the cool side still.  Last year our satsumas put out blooms very early, and a freeze nipped them off.  But soon there were new ones on the bushes, and we did end up with a crop after all.

2008-213-lime-buds-reduced-v2-011.jpg

Lastly, I checked out the bed with the daylilies.  They had aphids and had to be sprayed on Sunday, but they are aphid free today.  These are an evergreen type, but they do put out new growth in the late winter.  I got these from my mom years ago.  I do not know their names because my mom never asked her friend who gave them to her.  They are two colors here.  One is a bright yellow, and the other is a bronze-red color.  They have done well for me in a raised bed.

2008-213-daylily-bed-reduced-v2-012.jpg

As I walked around my garden this afternoon, I realized that it will not be long before the garden will be lush and lovely again, and dreary winter will only be a memory.

3 Comments

  1. ppenick said,

    February 14, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Hi, Jan. Thanks for visiting Digging. Your new blog looks great, as does your garden, which is so lush for late winter. Mine looked lusher before today, when I started the big pre-spring cut-back. It looks pretty scalped at the moment, but I trust in the power of spring to get things going again.
    Thanks, Pam. I, too, am starting to cut back plants, so for a few weeks, some areas are going to look a little bare. I guess that is not too big a price to pay for the lush growth later on in the spring.

  2. ppenick said,

    February 14, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Oops, I usually sign my comments as Pam/Digging, but your format is a little different. Anyway, that first comment is me, over at Digging. I see you have a WordPress blog. Can you set up your comments so as to allow people on all types of blogs to type in their URL links? That’s always nice, so you can check back with them on their sites.
    Pam, I guess you are not familiar with wordpress. In the name spot you can sign Pam/Digging, then type in your URL, then the message. When your message shows up, people can click on your name, and that brings them to your site. I hope that clears things up.

  3. ppenick said,

    February 15, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Pam/Digging says:

    That is how most comment fields work, but not here. I don’t see a name spot on your comment field. All I see here is a box to comment in, and it tells me above that I’m logged in as ppenick, which is where I have a WordPress account that I use for the Garden Bloggers site. There’s no other place to type my name or URL, so I’m not sure whether that’s different from what you’re seeing. I’m using Firefox; does that matter?
    OK, Pam, I had to do a little research about this. I didn’t realize you were logged into wordpress when you were leaving a comment. The info I have is this: You have to fix this from your end on WordPress. Go to your Profile page. Under “Website” put your blog URL, the whole thing starting with http. Then hit UPDATE. That way, your name becomes clickable all over WP and when you leave a comment, your name is a link to your blog automatically.

    On independent WP blogs and Blogger blogs, it works a bit differently. You have to put your URL in there.
    I hope this helps. Jan


Leave a Reply

