Green and White

This post, “Green and White” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Many plants at this time of year have that elegant combination of green and white. 

As I have written before, I do have one small area of green and white.  But as I strolled around the garden this weekend, I was struck by other areas of that combination.  The first area is the bed with calla lilies which are starting to bloom.  This past Saturday there were three open and two more should be opening in a few days.  I have always thought the white ones showed such a refined style.  They seem so cool, self-assured (if flowers can be self-assured) and sophisticated.

                     2008-301-calla-lily-reduced-v2-006.jpg

With the riot of spring color that is just starting, these statuesque flowers stand apart.

At the opposite end of the size spectrum, the summer snowflake (Leucojum aestivum.) makes a dainty appearance.  Standing only about fifteen inches high, these small nodding half-inch bell-shaped flowers offer on a small scale the same elegance of a green and white combination.

                              2008-0229-summer-snowflake-reduced-v2-0671.jpg

While I have often thought of green and white as a cooling summer combination, I have only recently realized how great it is in the spring time.  When every thing seems to be reborn after winter, the green shows us the cycle of life is starting again.  The restful color of green signifies growth and nature’s abundance.  With the start of a new growing year, white seems to imply a freshness that comes with all the new life around us.

4 Comments

  1. jodi said,

    March 3, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Lovely, green and white…at the moment I have mostly white (from lots of snow) but spring will get here one of these days…

    Oh, Jodi, the green will be there before long. Then you, too, will be enjoying gardening in pleasant weather.

  2. Marie said,

    March 4, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Beautiful photos! I’ve got snow drops on my blog post today too.

    These flowers are some of my favorites. They are so dainty and elegant.

  3. Randy said,

    March 4, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I just discovered the summmer snowflakes this past Sunday in my neighbor’s yard. I think they are just wonderful! I like the combination of green and white, I never really noticed it until you pointed it out.

    I first saw them lining a path in an abandoned garden. Ever since then, I wanted to recreate that look. Since they are one of the few reliable, reblooming bulbs in the Deep South, I think they are invaluable.

  4. March 6, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I like summer snowflakes, too. As you say, they are one of the few bulbs that bloom well in the south. Mine have come back every year for the last 15 years I’ve gardened here. They bloom at a good time, too. After the paperwhites but before the spring wildflowers.

    Yes, their blooming makes a nice transition point in the garden. I also like them because they are an hierloom plant for the South. The idea of continuing to grow a plant that people years ago did brings a sense of continuity to our gardens.


Leave a Reply

