A Month on Blotanical

This post, “A Month on Blotanical” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 It has been a month since I signed up for Blotanical.  If you are not familiar with this, it is a wonderful place to find hundreds of garden blogs.  It was started by Stuart of Gardening Tips and Ideas.  The motto of Blotanical is “where garden blogs bloom.”

Since I have joined, I have found so many interesting gardeners.  I love reading blogs, but I am disappointed when I check my favorite ones and nothing has been posted recently.  Many of the blogs that I used to read were becoming less and less frequently updated.  Now, I have found so many new ones that I always have something new to read. 

One of the interesting things about Blotanical is that the blogs are world wide.  You can read about gardens from every continent.  I usually like reading about gardens that are in the Deep South because so many articles in gardening magazines and books are for cooler areas.  They list so many plants that just don’t do well here.  But with all the garden bloggers out there in the same climate as my garden, I am able to find out about new plants that would do well here.  It also has been fun to read the blogs of people who garden in an entirely different climate than I do.  I have gotten several ideas from them that I plan on using in my garden.  If you haven’t been to Blotanical check out my blogroll for the link.

This international garden blog directory has caused me to spend more time at the computer.  I am reading and commenting on so many more blogs now.  After only a month on Blotanical, I feel at home.

4 Comments

  1. March 8, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    You are one of the bloggers I read often. I appreciate the time and effort you put in to your blogs. I agree that blotanical is an open door to take walk in lots of gardens all over the world.

    Thanks, flowergardengirl, it is so nice of you to take the time to write that. I have been reading garden blogs for a few years now, and I finally took the plunge. It has been fun connecting with other gardeners.

  2. Stuart said,

    March 8, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Awesome to hear Jan. Has it been a month already? You seem to have taken to it like a ‘fish in water’. Happy reading.

    I know, Stuart, I can hardly believe a month has passed. As the old saying goes, “Time flies when you’re having fun.” Thanks for doing this for gardeners. We appreciate all your hard work.

  3. March 9, 2008 at 6:32 am

    Blotanical is certainly a great place to discover old and new garden blogger friends.

    You certainly are right about finding so many new garden blogs.

  4. Joy said,

    March 9, 2008 at 6:52 am

    It is an amazing site .. club ? ..
    It helps “us” cold Canucks keep the hope of Spring going .. eventually we will come out of the frozen north .. meanwhile we can feast our eyes on your garden goodies on here !
    Joy

    It is great site – everything about garden blogs in one place. I’m sure when we are baking down here in the summer, we’ll enjoy looking at your “cool” blogs.


Leave a Reply

