Check Those Containers

This post, “Check Those Containers” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

With the official start of spring just around the corner, it is time to start thinking about repotting container plants that were overwintered.  I have several that must be moved to larger pots and some that just need to have some roots trimmed and new soil added.

I have overwintered about seven tropical hibiscus plants.  These need to be repotted with new soil as soon as possible so that they will start to bloom soon.  I have had them for years, and they add so much to the back garden.

Next, I have a bird of paradise that I want to repot.  I have had it for about three years and not one bloom.  I am not too disappointed though because I love the foliage.  I just wish I could grow it in the ground as they do on the southshore of Lake Pontchartrain.  Maybe after it gets new soil and fertilizer, it will reward me with a flower.

karenchole-flowers-reducedp03-ed.jpg

Several kalanchoes need to be repotted.  The one pictured above is one that my hubby got from his mother.  Its buds have just started to open.  The other ones I have I keep as insurance in case the ones in the ground freeze and don’t come back.

Then there are the hanging baskets of ferns that need to be divided and repotted. 

So, how do you know that a container plant should be repotted?  Easy, there are several signs. Plant is rootbound and has no soil, water runs out immediately when it is watered, plant is top heavy in the container, roots are growing out of the container, and, the most obvious reason, the roots are cracking the container.

To repot, just remove the plant, trim some of the roots if totally pot bound, loosen the root ball and plant in fresh potting soil in a container that is only slightly larger (1 to 2 inches in diameter).  Before you know it, the plant will start growing and be healthier.  This is a chore we sometimes ignore or put off, so now might be a good time to look over those potted plants and see if they could use a bigger home.

1 Comment

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    March 14, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    So true. It’s a chore. But one that will reward us with much healthier plants.
    Brenda

    You are so right, Brenda, but it is one that many people tend to ignore, then wonder why their plants are doing poorly.


Leave a Reply

