Garden Show Purchases

This post, “Garden Show Purchases” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Well, I couldn’t resist.  I tried, but I just couldn’t.  I am referring to plant buying.  This weekend was the local garden show sponsored by the LSU ag center.  I went with my sisters and mother with the intention of buying NOTHING.  I still have plants that I bought three weeks ago that need to go in the ground. (Maybe I’ll get to them today).  I resisted some interesting heliconia that had flowers that resembled bird of paradise.  I resisted this gorgeous cotton candy pink camillia.  I even resisted some fantastic and different ferns.

 

But I couldn’t resist a native clematis (clematis crispa).  I had seen it about three years ago at a garden show for wholesalers that I attended with a friend, but it wasn’t for sale there, and this grower does not sell to the public, except at shows.  Many clematis do not do well this far south, but this native, that bears dainty light purple to blue bell-shaped flowers, should thrive.  It is only a small plant about twelve inches high, but I can’t wait to see it bloom.

 

Well, after this purchase, the next one was easier. 

                  2008-316-rex-begonia-reduced-v2-003.jpg

I found three great rex begonias:  Silver Dollar, Harmony’s Wildfury, and Harmony’s Pink Satin.  I am thinking about putting all three together in one large container since their leaves coordinate so well together.

 

So, since three of the four plants I bought are container plants, I can rationalize that it is like I really bought only one plant (that actually has to be planted in the garden).  And we all know buying only one plant at a garden show is pretty restrained for a gardener.

2 Comments

  1. Kylee said,

    March 16, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Your Rex begonias are gorgeous! I went through a Rex begonia phase a couple of years ago. I still have maybe half of them.
    I think you showed amazing restraint in the face of such temptations that are always present at garden shows!

    I got into Rex begonias years ago. I use them under a Magnolia tree in the summer to bring some color to the shade. In early April, there is a bigger garden show in New Orleans. I hope I can resist those impulse buys.

  2. Brenda Kula said,

    March 17, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I agree, it is pretty restrained! I keep saying I’m going to buy a clematis. I just love them. And then I just haven’t. But I have many seed packets not yet opened, so I know how you feel. So much to get done!
    Brenda

    Oh, Brenda, you are my kind of woman. So understanding.


Leave a Reply

