Big Red Trumpets

This post, “Big Red Trumpets” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

                    2008-318-red-amaryllis-reduced-v2-005.jpg

 

I have many amaryllis growing in the garden.  The March 15th posting showed the red and white ones in bloom, and today shows the first of the solid red opening up.  I am not sure of the name of these because they were given to me by a co-worker who didn’t learn the name from the neighbor who gave them to her.  I do not think that they are Red Lion because they are not the same color as the Red Lions that are in the garden from years ago.  These seem to be a bit more blue-red than the Red Lions I have.  They sport very big flowers.  These red beauties are planted in the circle garden, the entry garden, and the patio garden.  As you can tell, I was fortunate to receive many of these bulbs from my friend over the years.  I must have a total of about 75 bulbs in those three places, and when they all bloom it is a very nice spring display.

 

So now I am waiting for the Appleblossoms that are planted in the garden to bloom, but it will be a while – the stalks are only about four inches high now.  Also there are some white amaryllis that are not even showing buds, but those are always the last to show up.  The soft orange ones I received from a friend last year should be the next to open.

 

Amaryllis can be grown in the ground if you are in at least zone 8 or higher.  They need well-drained soil and should be planted with about half of its nose out of the ground.  They need sun but do best with some afternoon shade.  Space about a foot apart and don’t forget to mulch esp. in fall and winter.  Those potted bulbs we use for the holidays can be planted in the garden in the spring.  If you live in an area that is too cold to plant them in the ground, then check out this site from the North Carolina Extension Service that explains how you can have them bloom again.

3 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    March 18, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Those blooms always amaze me. Beautiful!

    Thanks, Nancy. I find them wonderful, too.

  2. Brenda Kula said,

    March 19, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Lucky you for having such a nice considerate neighbor! I love any red flower. These are particularly striking. I’m just getting into bulb gardening myself. I have previously been one of those “immediate gratification” gardeners. Now I’m trying to be more patient. It certainly worked out for you!
    Brenda

    Yes, Brenda, I am very fortunate to have such generous gardeners around me. I have been putting more and more perennials in my garden since they require a lot less maintence than annuals do.

  3. Randy said,

    March 19, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I love amaryllis! Keep the pictures coming. 🙂 I had a pretty good collection going. I’m hoping they didn’t get all of them with the bobcat and some will come back. If not, I will simply start over. 🙂

    Randy, you may be surprised at what will come back after being run over with heavy machinery. I had some irises come back after being seemingly crushed by a bobcat that was used in taking out a large pine tree.


Leave a Reply

