Easter Blooms

This post, “Easter Blooms” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Since today was Easter, I didn’t work in the garden.  I just walked around before we went to my daughter’s for lunch and enjoyed the beauty of nature in Spring.  Some new things were blooming.

2008-321-la-phlox-reduced-v2-012.jpg

Woodland phlox (Phlox divaricata) just starting to bloom.  These are great at the front of the border as an edging.

2008-321-yel-jessimine-reduced-v2-013.jpg

Yellow Shrub Jessamine (Cestrum aurantiacum) is now blooming.  I recently bought this plant for the circle garden where I have mostly yellow plants.  Butterflies are supposed to love this plant.

2008-321-lobelia-reduced-v2-001.jpg

Lobelia is showing its gorgeous blue color.  We grow this as a cool season annual here, since it cannot take our hot summers.  It will only last until May.

2008-322-azalea-row-reduced-v2-006.jpg

This row of azaleas is showing its best color now.  These are at their peak just in time for Easter.

I hope everyone had a wonderful day.

3 Comments

  1. March 23, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I love Lobelia and Nemesia paired together. It gets too hot for it here too. Any day walking in my garden is a good day! It was a quiet day for me and dh. We can’t be with our kids till next weekend and then we’re going to do a big meal together. Seems like when your kids get grown and gone, you have to work around busy schedules. But I will take them any time they can come!!

    I feel the same way. We are lucky that our daughter lives close by, and we get to see her often. We feel that you can celebrate a holiday any time the family can get together.

  2. Sherry said,

    March 24, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Your flowers are beautiful. Love the phlox and the gorgeous blue of the lobelia, and the pink azaleas are so pretty! Your post makes me anxious to see these plants in bloom here– our phlox are just now starting to bloom, and we have at least a couple of weeks or longer before the azaleas start blooming. I enjoyed your photos!

    Thanks, Sherry. Today was one of those perfect days – great weather and plants at their best. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful days.

  3. joey said,

    March 25, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    A lovely Easter show … I especially envy the azaleas. I must patiently wait until May for their welcome burst of vibrant color.

    Azaleas always put on a lovely display, don’t they. We were lucky that their blooming timed perfectly with Easter.


Leave a Reply

