Still Planting

This post, “Still Planting” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I am still working on putting those plants I have recently purchased into the ground.  I am making progress.  I have continued to clean out the border that I started on Monday.  I have finished about 30 feet with about 20 more to go.  Yesterday I planted a ligustrum and another white lace cap hydrangea in the section I worked on.  Today, I just continued to clear out the dead fern fronds and even out the mulch.  I didn’t do as much because my elbow and knee were bothering me a bit.

 

The azaleas are just about finished blooming, so I did trim back the long shoots.  I do not shear the azaleas into a hedge; I just prune out the leggy growth and let the plants have a more natural look.  This cuts down on maintenance, and I think it looks better in my garden.

 

We have not had any rain in almost two weeks, so I did start watering.  In the garden I use soaker hoses, and I do use a sprinkler for the lawn.  I only watered the lawn to help it green up some.  I no longer water the lawn like I used to, and I have found it does better.  Last summer I think I only used the sprinklers about four times and the grass was fine.

 

New blooms are showing up every day.  The amaryllis I received from a friend last year are opening up.  They are a soft salmon color, but the photo shows them a little more vibrant than they are in person.

               2008-0328-salmon-amaryllis-reduced-v2-019.jpg

 

The yellow native azalea has opened its flowers also.  These blossoms are a lovely light gold that continues the yellow theme in the circle garden.  It is still a fairly small plant, but it won’t be long before it is bigger and really puts on a golden show.

                          2008-0328-native-azalea-reduced-v2-004.jpg

 

The entry garden is really starting to fill out.  The amaryllis are opening up, the petunias, and ageratum are thriving, and the gerber daisies are now blooming non-stop.

                          2008-0328-entry-garden-reduced-v2-016.jpg

 

2 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    March 29, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    The azaleas here in Tyler are a little late this year. Just now beginning to really take on any sort of lushness. And mainly on the north side of town, which I find odd. (I’m at the south end.) Our neighborhood cul-de-sac is literally stunning when it reaches its peak. And my camera broke and I’m awaiting another via Fed Ex. Hurry and get here before I miss the peak!
    Brenda

    It would be a shame to not be able to take pictures of the annual azalea display. Ours started blooming about three weeks ago, and because there was no heavy rains, most of the flowers lasted longer than normal.

  2. linnie said,

    March 29, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Your garden looks wonderful. I love the red and purples in your entry garden.
    It has been so dry in south Louisiana I finally had to water my garden here in Destrehan. It must have been a good idea because we got almost 3/4 ” of rain this afternoon.

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 3/30/08

    Thanks, Linnie. It is coming along. I was lucky that many plants survived the winter, so they have a head start over the ones that would just be going into the ground.


Leave a Reply

