Anticipation

This post, “Anticipation” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 Anticipation.  You would think with plants and bulbs blooming since early February around here that we have stopped being excited about flowers opening up.  You would think that, but you would be wrong.  Everyday, when I go out into the garden, I still see things that are about ready to burst into bloom.  I noticed today that the Louisiana irises have big, fat buds, so it will not be too long before they open.  Daylilies in the circle garden are already showing buds.  The Appleblossom amaryllis planted in the garden should be open by tomorrow.  The Nun’s orchid’s stalks are tall, and flowers may be showing by the weekend.  The oakleaf hydrangeas have buds already, though it will be maybe two weeks before there are any blooms.  Easter lilies are tall, and it shouldn’t be long before they start showing flowers.

Of course, there are a few blossoms I am no longer anticipating – they’ve bloomed.

2008-0402-shelias-rose-reduce-v2-004.jpg

An unnamed rose from a friend.

2008-0402-group-hardy-glad-reduce-v2-016.jpg

Hardy Gladiolus blooming now.

I am glad that I started a few years back planting more perennials because it is now paying off.  I am having more flowers blooming continuously with less effort on my part than ever before.  So after the initial spring bloom period is over, what flowers do you anticipate showing up in your garden?

1 Comment

  1. linnie said,

    April 2, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Hi Jan
    I bought an unnamed oriental poppy last month. As you know these are not reliable here in south Louisiana but this one has bloomed. It is a gorgeous double hot pink. There are more blooms to come. I hope to save some seeds and have these again next year.

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 4/2/08

    Sounds lovely. I guess you can anticipate them blooming next year.


Leave a Reply

