A Bayou Classic

This post, “Bayou Classic” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Louisiana Irises are truly spectacular flowers that can be grown just about anywhere.  When we went to the Botanical Gardens on Saturday, their irises were already in bloom. 

Here is a group of light purple irises that was so majestic in their garden.  Louisiana Irises come in a rainbow of colors and can be grown in regular garden soil as well as in bog and water gardens.  They start blooming around March 15th to April 15th here in south Louisiana.

Here is another picture from the Botanical Gardens’ iris collection.  As you can see these plants come in colors of blue, purple, white, yellow, pink, and red.  They do very well in sun to partial shade in moist soil.  The sword-like leaves start to grow in the early winter and are very attractive in the garden and offer contrast to other foliage.  The flowers are held above the leaves which shows them off very well.

Louisiana Irises can be very vigorous.  Given the right conditions, a plant can grow into a hugh clump.  The next picture shows Bayou Classic.  This is an iris that has done extremely well for me.  It blooms profusely and has spread into a great display.

I just got my first blooms today and, as usual, the flowers are striking – big and colorful.  I can’t wait for the yellow and the red irises to start blooming.  Since these are doing so well, I need to get more of these irises to place around the garden.

You may think these irises only do well in the South, but even though they are native here, they will grow everywhere.  So don’t think of these as natives that only do well here in the Bayou State.  These easy care plants should be in every garden.  If you would like to know more about these wonderful plants check out the Louisiana Iris Society for more info.  You don’t have to grow just annuals to get great color in your garden.  Louisiana irises are an easy to grow perennial that gives color year after year.

4 Comments

  1. Jane Marie said,

    April 9, 2008 at 8:21 am

    I love Irises of all kinds. I often use them in my quilts. These are beautiful.

  2. Jan said,

    April 9, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks, Jane Marie. I love them, too. I would like to add different colors to the ones I have, maybe pink.

  3. Sherry said,

    April 12, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    These are really gorgeous, Jan. I love irises, and I too would love to have pink ones. Ours haven’t bloomed yet here, and I’m looking forward to them.

  4. Jan said,

    April 12, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Thanks, Sherry. I look forward to the irises blooming every year. I just wish they would last longer.


Leave a Reply

