Lettuce

This post, “Lettuce” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I really do not grow vegetables because I do not have many areas of full sun.  I have grown tomatoes in containers on the patio, but the most successful vegetable gardening I have done is growing lettuce.  I sow the seeds in late winter and usually have lettuce until May.  Leaf lettuce does best this far south because we can have very warm springs which will cause the head type lettuce to bolt too soon.  I have been most successful with Black Seeded Simpson, though Green Ice has also done well.

 

 

I grow the lettuce in containers on the patio where there is the most sun.  I don’t have any space to put a vegetable garden, so this does fine since it is just hubby and me.  I usually plant two large rectangular planters and then sow seeds every two weeks to get a succession of greens.  I put in one row in the container up against one side, and then two weeks later, I sow another row on the other side.  Lettuce is so easy to grow – just sow the seeds, cover with a little soil, water, and wait for them to come up.  The Black Seeded Simpson matures fast, so in no time at all, you are making salads.

 

I like growing my own lettuce because I do not use pesticides, and it is fun to watch those first green shoot come up in January.  I wish I could grow it throughout the summer.  It is so nice to just walk out the back door and pick a salad.  It would be nice to have a real vegetable garden, but for now I’ll make do with my lettuce.

3 Comments

  1. Phillip said,

    April 11, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Ok – mental note to do this next year. I’m not that knowledgeable when it comes to vegetable gardening and, like you, I have a lot of shade. I do grow some tomatoes and peppers in a tiny plot that is underneath a dogwood tree. Still, it does okay for me.

  2. Jan said,

    April 11, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Phillip, growing lettuce is really easy especially if you do it in containers. So give it a try. I have been doing this for several years and am thinking of trying to sow some seeds in the fall to see if I can’t grow some then.

  3. Susan Garrison said,

    April 18, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I live just north of Pensacola, FL, Zone 8b, and have had great success with several types of leaf lettuce and Romaine lettuce too (also spinach). One package will give you more lettuce than one family can eat.


Leave a Reply

