Hosta Overnight

This post, “Hosta Overnight” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The hosta didn’t really appear overnight, but it sure did seem like it.  Just a few days ago, I saw the first leaves emerge and they were only about three inches long.  Today.  Pow!  I’ve got an almost full grown plant.

 

I have not been growing hostas too very long.  This far south, people just didn’t plant them.  A few years back, I started some from seeds I bought from Parks Seeds, and they did very well.  Since then, I have added more hostas, and nurseries around here are carrying them now.  Since I have a great deal of shade, they are a great addition.  I have been surprised how much sun they can take this far South.  I thought that they would need complete shade, but after losing several large trees and having areas with more sun, the hostas in those areas are doing just fine.  Of course, I keep them well watered which probably helps.

 

My hostas have not grown as large as some I have seen in cooler areas.  I would love to have the big, blue ones I’ve seen.  I remember seeing hugh ones in North Carolina when we were on vacation in the mountains.  Even though mine are not that big, they do fill a nice niche in the garden, and I am happy to see them return.

7 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    April 13, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    I’ve had a few hostas over the years; I don’t think I’ve had this one, though. The leaves are beautiful!

  2. Jan said,

    April 13, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I do not know the name of this one – it wasn’t marked when I bought it. It has medium pleated leaves and is a chartruse color. I have divided it once already so I have two of these.

  3. Phillip said,

    April 14, 2008 at 7:21 am

    I didn’t know that hostas wouldn’t do well in the extreme south. Everyone grows them here. Some varieties will take more sun better than others. I have one called ‘Sun Power’ that is supposed to do well in sun. I just planted it last year but it gets a lot of shade in my garden. They are such easy-to-grow and satisfying plants.

  4. Randy Parker said,

    April 14, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Jan,
    I’ll soon be able to tell you how well they manage in full Alabama sun. We have a surprise one that popped up in the new bed. It was never planted where it is coming up. It was evidently pushed there during the clean up. So far, it looks really healthy. We’ll see… 🙂

  5. Jan said,

    April 14, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Philip, very few people here grow hostas. When I started, I just took a chance on them. A few of mine did not last two years, but the others are doing fine. I think if they have good soil and a lot of water here they will do ok, but too many people here just don’t seem to know about them. Too bad nurseries don’t try and educate people about plants to try.

    Randy, I sure hope it does well. If it seems unhappy, you can always move it or put it in a container.

  6. Sherry said,

    April 14, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Jan, I wish I could send you some hostas, lol, I probably have well over 100 of them and many more tiny ones every year. They spread here almost to the point of being invasive. I’ve been digging some of them out of the flower beds every year and lining both sides of a pathway into the woods with them. Mine are up and 6 to 8 inches tall already, and I have them in both sun and in shade and they do fine, although they do look darker colored and more lush in the deep shade. I’m in NC, and yes, they do get huge here. I have some that are the chartreuse color (yours look great with the red flowers) and some that are a deeper green and a few variegated ones. The dark green are the worst to spread. I try to remember to cut the flowers back right after blooming so they won’t go to seed as it seems every seed sprouts here, but I’m not always diligent enough in doing that and have way too many hostas!

  7. Jan said,

    April 14, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Oh, Sherry, I am so jealous. I can get them from seed, but only if I collect and plant them. They do not come up as volunteers. The ones I remember from NC were absolutely gorgeous even in the hot sun. Of course, the temperatures were milder than here, esp. at night. I envy you your bounty.


Leave a Reply

