Daylilies in Bloom

This post, “Daylilies in Bloom” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

The daylilies have started to bloom.  The Stella d’Oro and a few others have buds, but some have opened up on one of the coldest spring days we have had in a long time.  Even though the temperatures are unusually cool for us at this time of year, the daylilies think it is early summer.

 

This one was supposed to be Night Beacon, but it evidently was mismarked.  I think I already have this one, but I can’t find a tag that would tell me so.  It looks so familiar.  Well, I’ll have to see when the others start blooming if I do, indeed, have this daylily.

This is a daylily my mother gave me years ago.  It is a little more rusty brown than the picture shows.  Sometimes I just don’t understand why digital cameras do not always show true colors.  This is a very reliable daylily and is one of the first to bloom.

 

This is Rose Passion.  It, too, is a tad off color.  It has a little more of a dusty rose tint than it does in the photo.  This is a new daylily I just got in late winter.

This last photo is from two days ago.  It pictures one of the Oakes daylilies my sister sent me after I had blasted it with the hose.  I had forgotten to take a picture of it before I watered so hubby graciously took the photo while I continued to water.  (Note to self: Take photo first, then water).

This is just a small sampling of the daylilies that are in the garden.  There are more that will soon be in bloom.  While you northern gardeners are welcoming crocuses, down here, the daylilies are telling us early summer is almost here.

4 Comments

  1. April 14, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    They are so pretty. You can always tell when the ladies at our work have been smelling them, they have pollen all over their noses. They have such pretty faces that they make you smile.

  2. Jan said,

    April 14, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Yes, they are so pretty. Most of mine are not fragrant, so I am safe from “pollen nose”.

  3. nancybond said,

    April 15, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Daylilies are so beautiful. 🙂

  4. Jan said,

    April 15, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Yes, Nancy, I agree. I just started growing them about three years ago, and now it seems that I can’t get enough.


Leave a Reply

