A Climbing Rose

This post, “A Climbing Rose” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

My mother rooted a climbing rose for me several years ago.  The family is not sure of the name, but I believe it is Climbing Blush – it is a lighter pink in person (I think digital cameras have problems with some colors).  It was very popular in the ’60’s.  In fact if you drive through neighborhoods that were developed then, you find this rose in every block.  It is very floriferous and easy to care for.  I don’t spray it, and it rarely has a problem with black spot.  The canes can get quite long and need to be trained on some kind of support.  My mother has rooted several of these roses and given them to friends and relatives.  I have two she was able to propagate.

 

 

This rose is a repeat bloomer, blooming in flushes.   Though the older it is, the more it seems to rebloom.  My mother’s is spectacular.  She has three around her house.

 

 

I have not been successful in propagating roses, however I did succeed with this one, and now my daughter has one for her garden.  I can’t really take credit for rooting this one.  The spring after Katrina, my dear hubby and I were replacing the damaged arbor this rose was on.  A long cane (about 25 inches long) broke off as we were trying to  weave the canes into the new arbor.  Since the rose was in bloom, I wasn’t about to just throw away all those flowers.  I put this long cane into a large, green vase and put it on a table on the patio.  It continued to open blooms and made a very lovely display.  After about three weeks ( I was very busy that spring), even though there were still viable looking leaves on it, I took the cane out to throw away.  I could not believe my eyes.  There were roots everywhere the stem was in water.  I was shocked.  I didn’t think you could root a rose this way.  I placed it in potting soil and kept it watered. 

 

It didn’t die. It continued to grow.  I couldn’t believe it.  After about six months, I offered it to my daughter to plant in her new garden.  Now, she, too,  has an offspring of grandma’s rose.

 

 

8 Comments

  1. April 21, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    That is such a blessing to have a pass down rose. I hope she will pass it down to the next generation. When I see gardenias, I think of my mom. I’ve tried to grow them but never had much success. It is so sweet to have a living rememberance of someone.

  2. Jan said,

    April 21, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    You are so right. It is wonderful to have those passalong plants in our gardens, so that we can remember our friends and relatives who gave them to us or simply just loved those plants.

  3. Cinj said,

    April 21, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I would LOVE to get a passalong of that plant! Knowing my luck I’d probably kill the poor thing though. I agree that passalongs are really the best reminders of the people we got the plants from.

  4. April 21, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Roses usually propagate best from fall cuttings.

    Take a cutting, dip it in rooting hormone and stick it in the ground. Cover it with an upside down mayonaise or other large glass jar. You want it to have it’s own micro greenhouse. Keep moist and wait till spring. Remove the jar in the spring and you should see new leaves and branches as soon as the weather warms up.

  5. Amy said,

    April 22, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Plants with memories of the people we love are the most wonderful of all. What a lovely rose – your daughter must be thrilled to have her very own from the same plant.

  6. Jan said,

    April 22, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Cinj, I think most gardeners love passalong plants, not just to have the plant, but as a link to another gardener.

  7. Nancy Bond said,

    April 22, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Beautiful — a lovely shade of pink! And how wonderful to “keep it in the family”, so to speak. Happy Earth Day!

  8. layanee said,

    April 22, 2008 at 8:12 am

    What is better than that!


Leave a Reply

