Free Garden Help

This post, “Free Garden Help” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana  

It’s amazing that creatures we never want in our homes are more than welcome in our gardens.  When I first started installing garden beds around our property, I was only concerned with plants.  I did not realize then, that nature is not just plants.  It was not too very long before I noticed my first baby anole.  It was then that I realized that my garden was lacking creatures.  No spiders, no anoles, no bees – just plants.  I figured that they just had not discovered the new garden yet.  To get to it they would have had to cross open lawn. 

Gradually, the little critters found the garden.  Bees, spiders, and anoles found refuge there.  Praying mantises and ladybugs also showed up along with slug-eating beetles.  These beneficial insects and reptiles keep the baddies at bay. 

One of the benefits of a wild life friendly garden is that it discourages pests.  I do not spray pesticides because I don’t like the chemical idea, but also because I don’t need too.  There must be a large hidden army of predatory insects and reptiles around. Because I really have been able to attract the predators of so many common garden pests, I have had very little problems in that department which saves me time and money.  Bugs and reptiles work for free.  Mother Nature really has helped me keep my plants healthy and bug free.

 

3 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    April 24, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Jan, I just spent quite some time catching up on my reading on you blog. I’ve been so busy lately sorry I’m just getting by here. I was just going to purchase a bunch of cypress mulch for the beds. I’m glad I found your post and I will now be looking for an alternative. Thanks for the information. Have a great day- Randy

  2. Brenda Kula said,

    April 24, 2008 at 8:56 am

    I aim to be like you in this aspect of gardening. If you have any tips for those of us who don’t want to use pesticides and attract the little creatures to help us, please post about this. I would truly enjoy getting more information, as I’m sure my climate is so much like yours.
    Brenda

  3. Jan said,

    April 24, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Randy, I know how this time of year can be – hectic. I’m glad you didn’t buy the cypress mulch, every little bit helps the environment.

    Brenda, thanks for the idea for a new posting. I’ll see what I can put together about not using pesticides, etc.


Leave a Reply

