Serendipity

This post, “Serendipity” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Have you ever had something work out so right without your even planning it?  Well, I have been lucky to have just that happen to me.  I have three Iceberg roses that have just started blooming.  When the weather is cool, these roses tend to have a pink tinge when they bud and just start to open.  Since I have them in my “white garden”, this never really bothered me, but I would have preferred them to just be white.  This isn’t an issue in the summer when the weather is much warmer.

Two weekends ago, I started pulling out some of the white pansies and violas in that area,  and I put in some white New Guinea impatiens.  I just noticed that they have started to open in the last few days.  When I went to take photos of them for the blog, I couldn’t believe it.  They had a pink tinge to them also.

 I know this isn’t really a big deal, but just having these two plants both have the same coloration lends some continuity to that section of the garden.  And to think, I didn’t even plan it to work out this way.  Every now and then, things just have a way of working out without any help from anybody.

8 Comments

  1. letsplant said,

    April 24, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    They look great!!

  2. Jane Marie said,

    April 24, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I love serendipitous events. As a matter of fact I named my garden Serendipity Garden because those types of things happen to me often. Nice, isn’t it?

  3. Jan said,

    April 25, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Let’ Plant, thanks for stopping by.

    Jane Marie, what a great name for a garden. It is nice when things just seem to fall into place without any effort on our part.

  4. Nancy Bond said,

    April 25, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Nature knows what’s best. 🙂 They’re both lovely!

  5. Jan said,

    April 25, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Yes, Nancy, nature does know best. Sometimes we just need to listen.

  6. Sherry said,

    April 26, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I love it when that happens. 🙂 The white rose and impatiens are very pretty and your white garden sounds lovely.

  7. Jan said,

    April 26, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks, Sherry. The white garden is coming along nicely. Lilies should be open soon, and the shasta daisies are in bud.

  8. April 28, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    […] wildflowers and other plants In a recent post, Jan at Always Growing mentioned her white garden, and it inspired me to notice all the white today in and around my yard. In addition to the […]


Leave a Reply

