What’s Blooming?

This post, “What’s Blooming?” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Today, I was able to catch up on some blog reading, and was struck by the tremendous difference in what is blooming between my garden and the gardens of the North.  There, daffodils, tulips, and other early spring plants are blooming.  Here, early summer seems to have almost arrived.  The tropical hibiscuses have started blooming.  The peach colored were first, and now the red ones are blooming.  The yellow have buds and should be opening in a day or two, and the pink ones have just started showing buds. 

The salvia van houttei has a few blooms already.  This is early for this deep burgundy-flowered salvia to bloom.  It usually starts showing off color in late summer.  This salvia gets to be very large, about four feet.  Once it starts blooming, it keeps it up until frost.  I always make sure to over-winter this plant because it is sometimes hard to find, and I love the deep color.

It seems like only a few weeks ago, the oakleaf hydrangea was showing its fall color, and now, look at the blooms.  The color is just starting to show on the stalks.  In another week, I fully expect to see the panicles completely open.

The weather forecast for parts of the north is even calling for snow in some places and freezing temperatures in even more areas.  It is amazing that I am trying to hurry up and finish working in the garden before the hot weather sets in, and just a few hundred miles away, there are gardeners longing for warm weather to hurry up and settle in for good.

3 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    April 26, 2008 at 7:46 am

    I know what you mean. My tulips are but memories. Not it is petunias and coreopsis and vines climbing quickly up the trellises. Herbs are thick and luscious-smelling. I visited my daughters in Tulsa a few weeks ago, and froze!
    Brenda

  2. Marie said,

    April 26, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Beautiful flowers!

  3. Jan said,

    April 26, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Brenda, I see that you have experienced in Tulsa just what I mean. I just don’t think I could garden farther north without being crazy by now.

    Thanks, Marie. It has been so nice having things bloom in succession.


Leave a Reply

