Planting Accomplished

This post, “Planting Accomplished” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The last two days I have been really working hard in the garden.  Yesterday, I planted five white lacecap hydrangeas, a least a dozen asters and transplanted a Stella d’Oro daylily. 

 

The hydrangeas were ones I had rooted two years ago and had kept in pots until they were large enough to plant into the garden.  When I had trimmed back my mophead & lacecap hydrangeas in late June, I made about 40 cuttings to try and make some more plants.  I used the mister setting on the hose nozzle to mist the cuttings about twice a day.  I know that professional nurseries use misters to propagate cuttings, so I thought I’d try it since I had nothing to lose.  I never expected all of the cuttings to take, but they did.  I had pink mophead & lacecaps as well as the white lacecap.  I have shared these with my mom, sisters, and daughters.  I think this year, I will try some white mophead cuttings (but not as many) to see if these will be as successful.

 

The asters were from my mom.  When she went to clean out a bed last fall where she had planted asters the year before, she found that the original plants had sent out babies.  She plucked them out of that bed and put them into two large pots and kept them through the winter.  She said she could not use them all, so I got to take some home.  I planted most in the circle garden and a few in the entry garden.  Hers did well in her garden, and I regretted not buying some when she bought hers.  I am looking forward to having them make a nice fall display.

 

I transplanted a Stella d’Oro daylily that was being shaded by the Louisiana Irises.  It wasn’t doing too well, so I moved it where it will get more sun.  The other Stellas are blooming their little hearts out, so I am hoping this one catches up.  Speaking of the circle garden, I noticed my Texas Bluebonnets have set seeds.  Maybe I won’t have to buy seeds this year after all.  They look great in combination with the yellow of the Stella d’Oro daylilies.

 

Today, I started redoing the patio garden.  That meant digging out lirope that had encroached too much into the bed.  It was crowding the hostas and ajuga and a few other things.  I also started cutting back the holly fern fronds that have yellowed.  Leaning over that much wasn’t so great for  my back.

 

Finally, I had to watch dear hubby clean pine needles off the roof.  We have a two story house, and I’m afraid he’ll fall if I am not there to watch him.  I picked weeds while he worked.  After he dumped the pine straw, he and I picked it up.  We finished just as the rains started.  A hot shower was welcome relief after all the exercise of the last two days.  I think tomorrow will definitely be a day of rest.

 

No pictures today, I can’t seem to upload them & can’t figure out why.

4 Comments

  1. Patricia Louque said,

    April 26, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I have really been enjoying your blog. Hopefully there will be more pictures soon.

  2. Jan said,

    April 27, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Thanks, Patricia, for the feedback. It is nice to know that others enjoy reading about what I am doing in my garden.

  3. Patricia Louque said,

    April 30, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Not only do I enjoy it, I can’t miss it for even a day. Sometimes I check a few times before it is updated. I love it. It is always so interesting, inforamtive and well written. Thanks again. It makes my day, but causes me to spend more money as I always want what I see on your blob. Thank goodness not all grow in my zone. Ha!

  4. Jan said,

    May 1, 2008 at 4:13 am

    Thanks for the compliment. I have the same problem. I look at other blogs and then buy plants they write about. I used to shop for antiques, but now all I seem to want to look at and buy is garden stuff.


Leave a Reply

