Crinums

This post, “Crinums” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I haven’t been growing crinums for too very long.  I have really had success in the last two years since the garden is getting a lot more sun.  I received my first crinum from my sister.  I kept it in a pot for a few years so I could place it in some sun.  About two years ago, I planted it in the ground, and boy did it take off.  It has not sent out any blooms yet this year, but a little crinum I have in the back garden is already up and open.

 

 

This particular crinum was on my sister’s compost pile about three years ago when I saw it and asked her if I could have it.  I brought it and an even smaller one home and planted it in the only place that got any sun.  Well, it didn’t die, but it sure didn’t thrive.  After Hurricane Katrina came through and knocked down some trees in 2005, more sun was available for these two crinums.  In 2007 I got my first blooms from this scrawny plant.  I was thrilled because I love the color, and, hey, an easy care plant that blooms just can’t be beat.  Well, with a little compost, fertilizer, and watering, I think this crinum will soon be on its way to being a lot bigger with more blooms.

 

This past fall I bought two white crinums for my white garden.  They have started putting out leaves.  Even though they were a good size, I don’t know if I will get any blooms this year. We’ll have to see if they bloom later in the summer.  I would like to add more of these great plants and will probably look for some different ones on the internet, since they are not often found in nurseries.  I would love to have the one called “Milk and Wine.”

 

The clumps of crinum lilies can be quite large.  The strap-like leaves can be up to four feet.  These are big, bold plants.  The flower spikes rise up to about three to four feet and display fragrant trumpet-shaped flowers.  These can be grown into zone 7 and some varieties to zone 5 with protection, but down here you can hardly kill these things. 

 

As I am moving to having more and more perennials in my garden, I will make sure to leave room for this great old Southern bulb.

8 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    April 30, 2008 at 8:27 am

    A beautiful bulb…

  2. April 30, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    My crinums have been blooming for about 3 weeks non-stop. This is the best year for the yet. They are big and unwieldly plants. But the flowers are spectacular.

    Mine might be the “milk and wine” type. They have rather gray leaves compared to some others I got which I think are “gowenii”. Since all of them were passalongs, I don’t know what they are.

    The “milk and wine” ones produced seed last year and I sprouted them. If they produced more seed this year, would you want some?

  3. Jan said,

    April 30, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Yes, Nancy, they are very pretty. When they get big, they can be spectacular.

    MSS, yes, if you have any seeds to spare, I would love some. Thanks.

  4. Ki said,

    May 1, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Great that you saved a wonderful plant. The flowers make you feel like the plant is thanking you for the rescue 🙂

  5. Jan said,

    May 1, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Ki, you are so right about the flowers being a sign of thankfulness. I just can’t seem to throw away any plants. If they have struggled to survive and made it, it almost feels like murder to not find a home for them either in my garden or someone else’s.

  6. May 1, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I posted a photo of my crinum lilies today. Compared to other crinums I’ve seen, the flowers are a bit smaller and the leaves a gray/blue green, or at least not a bright yellow green. I’ll send you some seeds when they set. Just email me your address.

  7. May 2, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    I fell in love with these after I first heard about them in a talk.

    I put in two last year, one thrived, thought I lost the other one but it reappeared a couple of weeks ago.

    The flowers are amazing. Mine won’t bloom till mid summer.

  8. Jan said,

    May 3, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    MSS, I went to your blog to see your pictures. It is a lovely crinum. Both the flowers and the color of the leaves are striking.

    Linda, I feel the same way about these bulbs. The big clump I have on the north side of the property has not bloomed yet. It, too, will probably bloom later. The one pictured is on the south west side. Everything there seems to have bloomed earlier than ever this year. I don’t know if it is that area is getting more morning sun or it is its own little microclimate. I am hoping my white one blooms this year, but I may have to wait another year for it to get bigger.


Leave a Reply

