Blooming Daylilies

This post, “Blooming Daylilies” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

This week more daylilies have started blooming.  Since I have been concentrating on adding more perennials to my garden, I have become enamored with daylilies.  The yellow ones my mother gave me from her garden a few years ago have started blooming.  The red ones she gave me started blooming last week.  I do not know the names of these, but just this week when I was driving to her house, I saw that the same ones seemed to be blooming in gardens in the older sections where she lives.  These must have been popular daylilies at least thirty years ago.

 

 

 

The Stella d’Oro has been blooming nonstop for about two weeks now.  This little one is a favorite of mine.

 

 

One of the daylilies my sister sent me from Oakes Daylilies has started blooming.  It is a small lemon yellow.  I wonder if it could be Happy Returns?  I’ll have to compare it to the ones I know are Happy Returns when they start blooming and then see if this new one repeats blooms.

 

 

Finally, a pink stripped daylily has bloomed.  This particular daylily has bloomed earlier, but now its color seems to be truer to its picture than the first blooms I had.  Maybe the temperature has something to do with the slight change in color.

 

 

I still have several daylilies that have yet to bloom.  The Vanilla Fluff, I bought at the N.O. Botanical Show has buds, and several more of the Oakes Daylilies have buds.  There are still a few that are not showing any buds or bud stalks, but I seem to remember that they bloom in early summer.  I’ll have to check my garden journal from last year to see when they actually did bloom.  I always seem to forget when a few things start flowering, that not everything will bloom early.  That is the main reason I keep a written journal of when things bloom, so I can keep track.  I guess I am too impatient for things to show up in the garden.

 

If you are interested, this is a great site for tips on growing daylilies.

5 Comments

  1. Jane Marie said,

    May 2, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    You are so lucky that your daylilies have started to bloom. We won’t be there until late June. Usually July 4th is right around our peak. If you are interested, you can stop by my blog and click on daylilies in the labels list on the right. I have been photo journaling all of my daylilies. I have about 7 more new ones to add that I didn’t get pictures of last year. And I’m not done buying yet! It’s addicitive.

  2. Randy said,

    May 3, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Jan,
    Your daylilies are exquisite! Those red ones really pop behind the yellows. Jamie and I developed a fondness for them this year since we now have complete sun in our garden. We went a little crazy and now have over forty different varieties. The just started blooming this week, I’m not expecting a tremendous amount of blooms this year because most of the ones we set out only had three fans. I went to the site you posted and read it, hopefully now they will stand a better chance. LOL If it turns out you really get into collecting them, we have a lot that will need dividing sooner or later. 😉

  3. Jan said,

    May 3, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Jane Marie, I’ll be checking out your blog for the daylilies. You are so right about daylily buying being addictive. They are such wonderful plants.

    Randy, you may be surprised that your daylilies may bloom well this year. I bought some bare root, single fan daylilies in April, and one has a bloom stalk already on it. I’m sure yours will do very well with all your new sun areas.

  4. Sherry said,

    May 4, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Your dayliles are beautiful, Jan. That pink striped one is gorgeous! I also love the Stella d’Oro’s and can’t wait for mine to start blooming too. Love their cheery yellow color. I have some new daylilies planted this year also, so I’m anxious to see how they do. I know what you mean about being impatient. 🙂

  5. Jan said,

    May 6, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Thanks, Sherry. I am waiting for some of the new daylilies to open any day. The more I work with these plants, the more I like them.


Leave a Reply

