Clematis Crispa

This post, “Clematis Crispa” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

This past March I attended a local garden show and purchased Clematis crispa, a small, bell-shaped flowered clematis.  It is native to the southeastern U.S.  I saw this plant about five years ago, but it was not for sale.  Since I like to have native plants in the garden because they usually do very well, I was on the lookout for this one.  Luckily, I was able to finally acquire one.  Many cleamtis do not do very well here, esp. the large-flowered ones.  So I have great hopes for this one.  It is supposed to be a fairly easy plant to grow.  What I have read says that it dies down to the ground in winter, so no pruning is needed.  It also is said to have no wilt problems and have attractive seed heads.

 

It has its first flower, and there is another bud waiting to open.  So, I am thinking that it must be happy were it is planted.  This clematis is only supposed to grow six to ten feet, but I have a feeling it may get taller.  It already has grown over the eight foot trellis it  is planted near, and I have had to gently twine it back on itself.  I do not think this is a prolific bloomer, but I will happy with the little blue bells I do get.

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. Ki said,

    May 4, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Very lovely photo of an elegant flower. I especially love the misty moody look of the photo.

  2. Jan said,

    May 4, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Thanks, Ki. I took this photo about 7:30 pm as the sun was setting.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    May 4, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Oh, how lovely! I promise myself every year I’m going to get one! Yesterday at a local garden tour I saw some beautiful ones.
    Brenda

  4. Jan said,

    May 4, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Brenda, I am so pleased with this vine. The flowers are adorable. I am so glad I finally was able to get one of these. If you get one, you won’t be disappointed.

  5. Sherry said,

    May 4, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Yes, it must be happy where it’s at, it looks to be thriving. It’s very pretty, Jan. I love that color. We have native white-flowered clematis here and I have seen very dark colored ones in other yards, but I haven’t seen one the color of yours, it’s a pretty shade. I have never had a clematis, but I’m thinking that maybe I’ll get one. They really are beautiful plants.

  6. Phillip said,

    May 5, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Very pretty. I’ve been wanting a clematis like this.

  7. Jan said,

    May 6, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Sherry, this one is a sweet, little clematis. I have only seen it on native plant sites. I love the shape of the flowers, too.

    Yes, Phillip, I agree it is very pretty. I can’t wait until it is a little bigger, and there are more blooms. There are about six buds waiting to open now.


Leave a Reply

