Daisy Gardenia

This post, “Daisy Gardenia” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Daisy gardenia  (Gardenia jasminoides ‘Daisy’) is a single-flowered gardenia.  My mother rooted mine from her bush.  She had rooted me one a few years back, but it was lost in Katrina.  It was crushed by a falling pine tree.  She was sweet enough go to the trouble of rooting another one last summer for me, and today it is big enough to plant in the garden.  Its first flower opened this morning.

 

 

When we moved in to our house thirty years ago, we had fifteen large gardenia bushes lining a circular driveway and about twenty-five lining the southeastern property line.  When they were in bloom (and they were when we first saw the house), it was a spectacular sight.  They also perfumed the whole neighborhood.  Gradually though, most of those original plants died.  I do not know if it was from old age, or if we just were so inexperienced that we didn’t know how to take care of them properly.  But, anyway, they gradually declined, and now we have only two left, and those resprouted after we had cut them down.  I have added a few new ones to the garden because the flowers are so pretty and the aroma is so wonderful

 

The daisy gardenia from my mom is different in that it is a single and not a double like the others.  It, too, takes morning sun this far south and full sun farther north, is hardy to zone 7, likes well-drained soil, and grows to about five feet.  Mine is still little, but it is covered in blooms. 

 

This evergreen shrub with its single blooms is a welcome addition to my garden.  Not only because it is an attractive, blooming, and fragrant plant, but also because mom went to the trouble of rooting it for me.

19 Comments

  1. letsplant said,

    May 6, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    I bet it was gorgeous!! Good luck with your new addition!!

  2. Nancy Bond said,

    May 7, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I’ve always love gardenias, for their heady scent as much as for those creamy petals. 🙂

  3. Jan said,

    May 10, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Today, I have more blooms, so I think this new addition will do fine.

    Nancy, I, too, have loved gardenias fragrance as well as the flowers. Right now, when you walk in the gardenia section of the garden, the scent is heavenly.

  4. aweinfield said,

    June 20, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    I have one 10 year old daisy gardenia in a pot that comes inside for the winter months. It is in full bloom now but had significent leaf loss before the blooms came out. It looks a little peaked. I think I should prune it after the blooms are gone but do not know how or when to do this. Also, I had thought I would fertilize it after it bloomed. Any suggestions?

  5. Jan said,

    June 21, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Aweinfield, I would fertilize your gardenia with an acid fertilizer. It is normal for gardenias to lose the older leaves each year. Sometimes they lose more leaves some years than other years. If you cut off just the flowers now, the gardenia will bloom again. I usually trim off the flowers and can get two more bloom periods. They do not bloom as heavily as the first time though. If you are going to prune to control growth, do it now and take off about a third of the growth. Don’t wait too long though or you will not have blooms next year. Another thought, have you repotted the plant lately? Repotting to a slightly larger container may be needed. I hope this helps. If you have any more questions, just let me know.

  6. tina said,

    October 29, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Jan, I just acquired one of these yesterday when a nursery friend of mine bought me one. I thought I’d google it and wonders of wonders, it brought me to your blog. What a small world. Anyhow, it is reputed to be hardy here, though I have my doubts. Thanks for the info.

  7. Jan said,

    October 29, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    I am sure you will like this plant as much as I do. Glad I could fill in some info for you.

  8. April 17, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Is it okay to plant in a pot, what is the best soil!!!

    p.s. My all time favorite flower

    • Jan said,

      April 18, 2009 at 5:58 am

      Yes, a container grown gardenia will do very well. Just use any good quality potting soil, Judith. Good luck.

  9. Regina said,

    April 25, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    We are just beginning to landscape our home that we built 2 years ago and I do not know a lot about plants. I love the smell of gardenias but I need to be able to keep whatever I plant in the front of our house small. We have a very small front yard and I don’t want my plants growing very tall in front of our windows. Can gardenias be kept trimmed small? Thanks so much for any help.

    • Jan said,

      April 26, 2009 at 12:36 am

      Regina, you need to buy the dwarf gardenias that only get about two feet high. They have just about the same size flower as the full size gardenias. You do not want the full size gardenia plants because you would be constantly cutting them back and probably cutting off the blooms to keep them a manageable size. Regular gardenias get to be about six feet high, so the dwarf ones would be perfect for the front of a house. I hope this helps.

  10. terrie hall said,

    May 29, 2009 at 9:50 am

    We bought twoDaisy Gardenia shrubs I planted them in the circle drive and they were blooming. I picked the blooms used a mushroom rich soil from the nursery and now they seem to be dying I havent had them out for just a month the leaves are turning yellow and they look like they are dying I have pulled off the yellow leaves and the nights have been cool and the days are starting to get into the 80-90s. Should I take them back to the nursery I hate to waste the money. Can you please3 give me some advise thank you very kindly. We live in the north of tex- okl region.

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2009 at 10:42 am

      Terrie, it is a little hard to tell without actually seeing your plants, but I would call the nursery and talk to them about your gardenias. Gardenias, like all evergreen perennials, will drop their leaves as new ones come out, but I am not sure that this is the right time for that to be happening. Are the leaves wilted or crispy brown? I would talk with the nursery or your local ag extension service. They should be able to give you more info, but I wouldn’t wait much longer, as you may need to return those shrubs. I hope this helps.

  11. Joann said,

    November 6, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    You said you planted it in mushroom rich soil. If your soil was only mushroom, you burned your gardenia. You have to mix mushroom with a regrind mix.

    • Jan said,

      November 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm

      Joann, thanks for the info. I don’t use a mushroom rich soil, so I am not that familiar with it. I sure hope they did contact the nursery as Terrie bought the plants and soil from it.

  12. Kandy McKinney said,

    May 10, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I purchased a daisy gardenia yesterday and I am wondering how to care for it. There was nothing on the plant regarding it’s care. I would love some suggestions. Thanks.

    • Jan said,

      May 11, 2010 at 4:11 am

      Kandy, to take care of my gardenias, I just mulch well and keep them watered. Gardenias have shallow roots and can dry out if you have hot summer weather. I also fertilize with an acid fertilizer. I grow mine in dappled shade where they get morning sun. Hope this helps.

  13. Beverly said,

    May 21, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    I have planted 4 daisy gardenias. When I bought them one had some yellow leaves. I figured when I planted it would do well. Instead more of the leaves are turning yellow and falling off. The other gardenias are doing well. I did give them all miracle grow when I planted them. I can not figure out what to do. Should I take it back to the nursery, give it more water, more fertilizer or what? Any suggestions. I bought another plant from the same place just in case I need to replace it but it too has yellow leaves, though not as much.

    • Jan said,

      May 22, 2010 at 5:05 am

      Beverly, how did the roots of the plant look when you planted it? They should have been white and not brown. Gardenias do lose some of their leaves in the spring when new leaves are coming out, but they should not lose a lot of them. Since you just planted these plants and the others are doing fine, I think I would check with nursery about this.


Leave a Reply

