Easter Lily Blooms

This copyrighted post, “Easter Lily” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Last year I ordered lilies (lilium longiflorum – White Heaven) from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs.  I ordered 25 bulbs and they performed fantastically.  I had big plants and numerous flowers.  This year when they started to come up, I was overjoyed to see that they had multipled.  Instead of just 25 plants, I now have about 40 big ones and 15 small ones.  I will definitely have to move some later on so they will not be crowded.  I guess they like where I planted them.  Since I have clay soil, I planted these bulbs in a slightly raised bed and added some sand for good drainage.  I figured the first year I would have success, but had my fingers crossed for this year.  I have not been disappointed.

 

 

Today, the first ones opened, and I couldn’t wait to get a picture. This is one of the few lilies that is supposed to do well here, and these have done very well.  Not too many people grow these any more.  You tend to see them growing only in the older neighborhoods.  I think most people just throw away any they buy for Easter instead of planting them in the garden.  They won’t bloom for Easter, but that does not bother me in the least.  I remember my mother had a whole bed of these bulbs when I was very young.

 

 

The success I have had with these lily bulbs encouraged me to try other ones.  I purchased an assortment of bulbs this spring, and I have a few planted in the back garden and some now have buds.  It remains to be seen if they return next year.  In the mean time, I am going to do a little research and see if I can find some other lilies that are recommended for the deep South.

2 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 12, 2008 at 8:57 am

    They are beautiful indeed, and the scent is intoxicating. 🙂

  2. Jan said,

    May 12, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Yes, Nancy, they are so pretty. As I add more perennials to my garden, it is nice to have these which are so reliable.


Leave a Reply

