Something New Every Day

This copyrighted post, “Something New Every Day” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

It seems like everyday when I come home from work there is something new blooming in the garden for me to see.  I don’t remember planting so many new plants in the fall or early spring, but evidently I did.  There is not only the thrill of seeing the old favorites return, but the brand new ones are exciting to see.  Are they what was expected, do they fit in with the rest of the garden, are they adding to the garden?  All of these are answered in the blooming of just one flower.

 

One of nature’s presents to me today was the blooming of this new daylily.  It is another one of the daylilies from Oakes Daylilies that my sister had sent to me.  I couldn’t be more pleased with this company’s plants.

 

 

The red petals with the yellow-green throat of this daylily is so striking.  This makes three of the Oakes daylilies that have bloomed – only nine more to bloom.  I am sure that the others will be just as lovely as this.  Most have buds, and I can hardly wait to see what they look like. 

 

This afternoon, I was able to get home a little early and this made it possible for me to start planting some begonias in the entry garden.  The petunias are about ready to be pulled up, so I needed to plant some annual color.  I decided this year to try some bronze leaf red begonias.  I was able to get the 6 cell packs.  Even though the plants are small, in our climate they will quickly fill out.  I planted 36 begonias which should be enough once they start growing. 

 

Last year I had red pentas, but they grew too tall, so I did not want to use them again.  The year before that, I used red and white impatiens, but they need too much water, so I decided not to use them either.  We’ll see how well the begonias do this year.  I decided on the bronze leaf ones instead of the green ones to try and get a little variety in leaves as well as flowers.  It may pick up the Ace of Spades sweet potato vine’s color.  Now, once I put in the caladiums, that garden bed will be finished for the summer, which will give me more time to work on all the other ones.  A gardener’s work is never done.

Leave a Reply

