The Fairy

This copyrighted post, “The Fairy” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I have often written about the plants that relatives have grown.  Because of childhood memories either of the plants or the particular person who grew them, certain shrubs, trees or perennials have a special place in my garden.  One of these is the Fairy Rose.

 

 

This is a small, delicate looking polyantha rose, but don’t let appearances fool you.  This is one tough little rose bush.  It is very hardy (zone 4), and once it starts blooming in the spring, it never seems to stop.  It puts out lovely pink clusters of flowers amid small bright green leaves.  I have not had any problems with black spot with this rose.  It grows to about two feet by two feet.  So, its small size is great for smaller gardens or that little spot that needs just a little something.

 

My mother grows this rose in containers on her patio.  She fell in love with this rose when she was on a tour of a plantation home in Natchez, Mississippi.  She saw tiny vases filled with these roses, and when she finally got hers, she does the same.  As soon as Fairy starts blooming, she keeps tiny vases filled with these shell pink beauties in several rooms

 

Last year I decided I wanted to add Fairy to my garden.  I couldn’t find them locally so I started checking out the Internet.  Surprisingly, I found them on QVC.  I purchased six for a very good price.  They were from Cottage Farms.  When they arrived, they were in great shape, but small.  I planted them in containers, and by the end of the summer they were about 18 inches high.  This spring, I trimmed them back a little, and they are growing and blooming very well.  I will probably plant them in the ground this fall.

 

 

This little rose just can’t be beat for blooming, diease resistance, and beauty.

6 Comments

  1. May 14, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Now you’ve got me wanting a fairy rose! I generally haven’t grown roses, becuase of the disease, high maintenance and all that, but there are so many good ones now that aren’t disease-prone or require a lot of work, that I am reconsidering.

    Might keep my eye out for one or two or three of these as I’m visiting garden centers this month!

  2. Jan said,

    May 15, 2008 at 4:39 am

    Carol, I figure any rose that I can grow in the hot, humid south has to be a winner. I think you would find this a great little rose.

  3. Phillip said,

    May 15, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    That is a good one. I had one that went into decline because of too much shade and I finally shovel pruned it, reluctantly. I also have Climbing Fairy which would take over my entire garden if I would let it.

  4. Jan said,

    May 16, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Phillip, your roses are so wonderful. I have been thinking about putting in a Climbing Fairy if I can find a place for it. Since we now have more sunny spots in the garden, I am able to plant a great deal more of my favorite plants.

  5. Phillip said,

    May 16, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Jan, I would use it only if you can keep it in check. It is very aggressive!

  6. Jan said,

    May 17, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Thanks for the heads up on the Climbing Fairy, Phillip


Leave a Reply

