Another Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day

This copyrighted post, “Another Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

It is hard to believe that another Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day is here already.  Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Garden for coming up with the idea of posting what is blooming in our gardens on the 15th of the month.  Even though we had over 5 inches of rain and extremely high winds last night, everything seems to have survived.

 

Iceberg Rose is blooming

 

Shasta Daisies have started opening up. 

 

White Mophead Hydrangea

 

 

 

White Lacecap Hydrangea

 

Shrimp Plant (Tutti Frutti)

 

Gold Mound Lantana

 

Plants I have written about lately are still blooming as well as these new ones:  gladiolus, begonias, red ruella, roses, impatiens, ageratum, hibiscus, irises, and this little white lily that I can’t believe has survived. That’s a story for another day.

 

7 Comments

  1. Phillip said,

    May 15, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I love that shrimp plant. I don’t think I’ve seen that variety around here but that is a plant that is hard to find here. I don’t have hydrangeas yet but they are covered with buds. This is going to be a good year for them.

  2. May 15, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    It is all so very beautiful. I love white.

  3. Jan said,

    May 16, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Phillip, that is a great shrimp plant. It has varigated leaves and is surprisingly hardy. It has been in my garden at least three years and has not been affected by cold weather, yet.

    Flowergardengirl, I love white flowers, too. It was only after I uploaded the photos that I realized how many white ones were blooming now. Of course, I have posted recently other colorful flowers, but white is still my favorite.

  4. May 18, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I like all those white flowers. With the green of the leaves, it makes the garden seem so fresh.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day again!

  5. Jan said,

    May 18, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Thanks, Carol. In the heat of the summer, white and green seem to make the garden just a little cooler. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. May 21, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Hi Jan,
    I’m still reading bloom day posts and am glad to see yours – the colorful next posts are great, too, but I really like all your white flowers, especially the hydrangeas.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  7. Jan said,

    May 21, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Thanks, Annie. I, too, am still catching up with my reading of those posts. I have just put in about seven of the white lace cap hydrangeas along the property line and can’t wait until they get bigger to make a big, white display.


Leave a Reply

