Other Than White

This copyrighted post, “Other Than White” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Yesterday when I did my posting for Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day, I was a little take aback by all the white flowers I had photographed.  In fact, I had to go back outside and find some other colored flowers to photograph.  While white flowers are among my favorites, I do have other colors to brighten the landscape.

 

 

 

For example, this is China Doll, a dwarf canna, which started blooming yesterday.  This has been a reliable plant in my garden for about three years.  Before I planted it in the ground, it did very well in a container.

 

 

Coral Nymph salvia is another little workhorse.  It reseeds or sometimes survives the winter and is a prolific little bloomer.

 

 

A Country Girl chrysanthemum is blooming while leaning over a daylily.  It will soon be time to cut back Country Girl so she will bloom in the fall.

 

 

These Cashmere Bouquet (clerodendrum bungei) buds will soon be opening.  Even in the bud stage these plants add color to the area.

 

See, I do have colors other than white in my garden.

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    May 17, 2008 at 7:59 am

    I have not had luck with cannas or mums. My neighbor has some mums in the ground that are gorgeous. I’ve always gotten my for containers in the fall. I suppose I should try what she’s doing. I use to be the type who just liked bright hues, but now I really enjoy the look of white flowers in the moonlight. They are elegant and feminine.
    Brenda

  2. Jan said,

    May 17, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Whites are still high on my favorite list, too, Brenda. I have been pretty successful with the cannas, but not so much with the mums. These are the first that have stayed in the garden year after year.

  3. Cindee said,

    May 24, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I enjoyed all your pictures. Everything looks really nice! I love white flowers too. Cannas bloom when the heat of the summer stunts everything else around here. Last year I ordered a Cleopatra canna and it is starting to grown now. The leaves are so pretty and I enjoy them as much as the flowers.
    I do have a problem with my Cashmere Bouquet plants though. They pop up everywhere. Do you find them invasive?

  4. Jan said,

    May 24, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Hi Cindee. No, I really do not find Cashmere Bouquet to be invasive. If they show up somewhere I do not want them, I just pull them out or transplant them to another area. Since I do this when they are small, they have not become a problem. Their pretty blooms are worth this little effort.

  5. haide andrade said,

    February 14, 2012 at 10:32 am

    linda esta planta


Leave a Reply

