Orange in the Garden

This copyrighted post, “Orange in the Garden” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Orange used to be way down on my list of favorite colors (except in October).  Orange flowers were definitely rarely if ever in my garden until the gift of some amaryllis which were a soft orange.  Since then more orange toned flowers have found their way into the landscape.

 

 

Hibiscus – This hibiscus I have had and overwintered for at least fifteen years.  I have rooted cuttings and they are now blooming in my sister’s and daughter’s gardens.

 

 

Daylily – This is one of the Oakes Daylilies that my sister sent me earlier in the year and is now blooming for the first time.

 

 

Lantana – This common lantana is a volunteer in the garden.

 

 

 

Rusty – not a flower but he does live in the garden.

 

 

9 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    May 19, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I have that same Lantana and the butterflies just love it. I did not know you could take cuttings from Hibiscus. But then, from reading your blog for awhile, I realize you make good use of most everything!
    Brenda

  2. Jan said,

    May 19, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    The reason I rooted the hibiscus is that often the double ones are not available in the colors I want, so when I have one I like, I try and keep it. I rooted this one to have back ups. When I cut back the hibiscuses, I’ll try and root a few, just to see if I can do it.

  3. Phillip said,

    May 19, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    It seems like all of a sudden I’m loving orange in the garden. In fact, I’m working on an orange and blue garden, the only color coordinated area I have. I just planted some of those ‘Profusion’ zinnias and already have pyracantha, blackberry lily, canna and some other orange flowers.

  4. Jan said,

    May 20, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Orange and blue combination sounds wonderful. I bet it will be stiking. I wonder why it seems we are seeing more orange than ever before, or is it we are seeing the color orange with new eyes?

  5. Ki said,

    May 20, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Your hibiscus is a beaut! The lantana you can have. They were thorny weeds when we lived in Hawaii. Your cat reminds me of our much beloved marmalade cat who died several years ago. We buried him in our garden and planted a crab apple on top of him. The tree is now the embodiment of that wonderful cat.

  6. Nancy Bond said,

    May 20, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Lovely blooms, all, but that hibiscus is stunning! (So is the kitty!)

  7. Jan said,

    May 21, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Ki, the lantana is a volunteer that started in a fairly bare spot in the garden, and I just let grow. I’m not sure how much longer I’ll let that one stay. The cat, however, is a different story. He’s my little sweetie man. We have buried a couple of pets in the garden, too. I often think of them when I see something growing nearby.

    Thanks, Nancy. That hibiscus is a favorite and is so pretty when in all in bloom.

  8. Terra Hangen said,

    June 3, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    I haven’t given much thought to orange in my garden. Your orange cat is pretty, by the way.
    One stuning orange plant I planted a few months ago, as 6 bulbs, is Orange Tiger Lily, orange with a few black dots on the leaves. The plants are in a container and about 2 feet tall, and show signs of blooming.
    Besides their beauty, I associate Orange Tiger Lily with my wonderful mom.

  9. Jan said,

    June 3, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Hi, Terra, it is funny you should mention the Orange Tiger Lilies. I have been thinking about adding some to the garden next year because they are supposed to do well in this area. It seems that orange is becoming a very popular color. All kinds of orange plants are showing up more than ever before.


Leave a Reply

