Triumph

 “Triumph”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

A few months back I wrote about some lilies I had totally forgotten I had planted last year.  I called them my surprise lilies.  They were packed with other bulbs in a small watering can I needed for a front door springtime wreath.

These lilies were in pitiful shape – white, leggy, and starting to dry out.  I just stuck them in the ground next to the patio, watered them a little, and then forgot about them.  They evidently went dormant very soon after that because I do not remember seeing them in the summer. 

Then in January, I saw some lilies growing up out of the ground and couldn’t fathom where they came from.  It was only after some racking of the brain that I finally remembered those poor, pathetic lilies I had planted in the late spring.  Well, look at them now.

Not too bad, right?  All I really wanted was the watering can, and the other things inside didn’t really matter.  But nature is a mysterious thing.  We can coddle plants making sure they get just the right light, moisture, soil, fertilizer, etc. and still they may not make it even after all that care.  And then, there are others, like this Triumphator lily, that no matter what happens to them (poor storage, soil, etc.) they survive and thrive.  I don’t think I’ll ever figure that out.

2 Comments

  1. Ki said,

    May 20, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Those are the nicest kind of surprise and it is a beautiful lily. It always amazes me how resilient plants are.

  2. Jan said,

    May 21, 2008 at 4:24 am

    Ki, it amazes me how tough some reportedly hard to grow plants can be. From what I have read of local writers, lilies are not supposed to do well here, but, so far, I have had pretty good success with the ones I’ve planted.


Leave a Reply

